Balsamic Green Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I actually forgot to take these to the dinner we were going to on Sunday so I left them in the fridge and took them to a birthday party the following day. They were actually better after sitting for close to 24 hours! I was afraid they might turn mushy but not at all. Will definitely make these again. They are a great refreshing summer side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Best side ever! The sweet crunchiness of the green beans with the rich tang of the vinegar compliment every picnic. This is my family's favorite Thanksgiving side. I always have to make extras so people can have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Valley Center, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I needed a side dish for the 4th of July supper. I did a quick search for a recipe. This was the one I found and it was truly awesome. Because I didn't do this in advance I did not get to let it sit as long as I will the next time. Great recipe, I strongly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
i found Yngvai Malmsteve's review very useful for starting points. though i think 14 minutes baking time was too much, i think 10 will leave the beans more crisp and less wilted. i also left my marinade separate and refrigerated it for 24 hrs to meld all the flavors. i added sun-dried tomatoes, feta cheese and pine nuts. was good, but must eat right then as it doesn't save well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This was good and very simple. I used half raw garlic and half roasted garlic (I had some left from another recipe), and it gave the salad a wonderful flavor that wasn't overpowering. I lightly blanched the beans and served them over romaine. I actually liked it better over the lettuce than just the beans by themselves; it gave a nice variation to the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
As written I give this recipe a 3, but I felt it needed more. So the next time I made it, I changed it. I am allergic to garlic so used more shallots instead. I roasted my green beans at 425 degrees for about 12 minutes. My beans had been resting atop a plastic baggie full of fresh dill, and they picked up that flavor, so I thought what they hey. I'll just add a couple of tablespoons of chopped dill to the recipe. I also took the suggestion of others and added some cheese to it. I used Swiss, since I had that on hand. I decided not to use as much oil and vinegar. I used about half. This dish was great. I'll make it again, but using my recipe instead. It brought the recipe up to a four or five. Even my husband who is not that fond of green beans liked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This was good, I did make a few changes. to save time and money, I used a store brand balsamic vinagrette and I added mozzarella cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRISHGINA74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
In addition to the beans, I added fresh asparagus spears cut to the same length of the beans. I sprinkled salt, pepper, parsley and garlic powder into the vinegar and olive oil before pouring onto the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I tried this but I steamed the beans, and I didn't use 2 tablespoons of garlic. I thought that was a LOT. I still used too much though and my wife and had the taste in our mouths for a couple of days. Next time, I will not use any at all and see how this turns out. I'm sure we'll enjoy it. Overall, a decent side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darter02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Pretty good, but nothing special. Worth it to use slightly higher quality balsamic vinegar here, since it is one of the main flavors. I would add some red pepper flakes next time. Overall, a simple recipe that I wouldn't mind making again, but nothing to rave about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States