Balsamic Green Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I actually forgot to take these to the dinner we were going to on Sunday so I left them in the fridge and took them to a birthday party the following day. They were actually better after sitting for close to 24 hours! I was afraid they might turn mushy but not at all. Will definitely make these again. They are a great refreshing summer side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Best side ever! The sweet crunchiness of the green beans with the rich tang of the vinegar compliment every picnic. This is my family's favorite Thanksgiving side. I always have to make extras so people can have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Valley Center, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I needed a side dish for the 4th of July supper. I did a quick search for a recipe. This was the one I found and it was truly awesome. Because I didn't do this in advance I did not get to let it sit as long as I will the next time. Great recipe, I strongly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
i found Yngvai Malmsteve's review very useful for starting points. though i think 14 minutes baking time was too much, i think 10 will leave the beans more crisp and less wilted. i also left my marinade separate and refrigerated it for 24 hrs to meld all the flavors. i added sun-dried tomatoes, feta cheese and pine nuts. was good, but must eat right then as it doesn't save well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This was good and very simple. I used half raw garlic and half roasted garlic (I had some left from another recipe), and it gave the salad a wonderful flavor that wasn't overpowering. I lightly blanched the beans and served them over romaine. I actually liked it better over the lettuce than just the beans by themselves; it gave a nice variation to the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
As written I give this recipe a 3, but I felt it needed more. So the next time I made it, I changed it. I am allergic to garlic so used more shallots instead. I roasted my green beans at 425 degrees for about 12 minutes. My beans had been resting atop a plastic baggie full of fresh dill, and they picked up that flavor, so I thought what they hey. I'll just add a couple of tablespoons of chopped dill to the recipe. I also took the suggestion of others and added some cheese to it. I used Swiss, since I had that on hand. I decided not to use as much oil and vinegar. I used about half. This dish was great. I'll make it again, but using my recipe instead. It brought the recipe up to a four or five. Even my husband who is not that fond of green beans liked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This was good, I did make a few changes. to save time and money, I used a store brand balsamic vinagrette and I added mozzarella cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IRISHGINA74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
In addition to the beans, I added fresh asparagus spears cut to the same length of the beans. I sprinkled salt, pepper, parsley and garlic powder into the vinegar and olive oil before pouring onto the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I tried this but I steamed the beans, and I didn't use 2 tablespoons of garlic. I thought that was a LOT. I still used too much though and my wife and had the taste in our mouths for a couple of days. Next time, I will not use any at all and see how this turns out. I'm sure we'll enjoy it. Overall, a decent side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darter02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Pretty good, but nothing special. Worth it to use slightly higher quality balsamic vinegar here, since it is one of the main flavors. I would add some red pepper flakes next time. Overall, a simple recipe that I wouldn't mind making again, but nothing to rave about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States