Balsamic Green Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
First time I boiled the green beans and they tasted watery. Second time, I roasted as suggested by another reviewer. I also used about 1/2 the garlic called for, and added red pepper flakes. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Good, not great. I think the amount of garlic was a bit much and I'm usually a big fan. The garlic and shallot need to be very finely minced. The final product is much improved by letting it sit in the fridge for several hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I made this recipe for myself, my husband and two guests. I was excited about the recipe because I usually love bean salad. This was just really bad. No one ate it, including me. I do not know what it was about the dish that did not work, but it was just not appealing to any of us (none are picky eaters)?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I haven't seen any mention of boiled white potatoes to this dish. I do, and the outcome is wonderful. The potatoes soak up the oil and the red wine vinegar along with the fresh green beans and it is amazing. Having it set over night is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
A nice change from plain green beans. My husband ate these so that's saying something. I never thought he'd eat these cold! I used steam in bag green beans. I used a little less olive oil and substituted red onion for the shallot. I also added a few shakes of red pepper flakes to give it a little kick. It marinated for 6 hours in the fridge. It had just enough tang from the balsamic and the garlic taste was a bit much, but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
Wonderful combo of flavors. I was worried about the vinegar but everything melded so well. I let mine marinate for about 3 hours. Can't wait for the left overs tommorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Good balsamic dressing, but it completely overwhelmed the taste of the green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I added some pepper and other spices to give it a little extra flavor. I took it to a potluck and people loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This recipe turned out very good. I took the advice of other reviewers and boiled the beans a little longer to make them a little more tender and added feta cheese. My picky husband thought it was "ok", but my parents who were joining us for dinner really liked it and my mom took the recipe home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
It was ok and nice of a marinade but definitely way too much marinade. Cutting in 1/2 would be fine. Added salt and let marinade for 7 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States