Balsamic Glazed Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This is awesome, although I agree with many other reviewers; either pre-cook the carrots or be prepared have to cook them in the oil a lot longer than 10 minutes. I like them parboiled in a 1/4 c of water, with 1t ea dried parsley and rosemary. The herbs stick when the carrots are drained and compliment the flavors of balsamic vinegar and sugar. Shallots sauteed in the olive oil added before that sugar, are nice too, if you have them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phishgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shaftsburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Idaho City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
very easy and yummy. Rushed for time, so popped in microwave for 3 minutes and saved about six.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Fabulous! I followed the recipe, no adjustments made. A great side dish for any meal. I plan on making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, California, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
I made these carrots tonight and they were absolutely delicious! This will be my go-to carrot recipe from now on. I used a 16 oz package of baby carrots and I followed the recipe exactly as written with the exception that I added a about a 1/2 cup of water when I was first cooking them and put a lid on them so they could steam and cook for 10 minutes and once they were tender I then added the balsamic vinegar and brown sugar. I followed the measurements exactly as on the recipe but I added a bit of salt on them after they were done and feel that it complimented the flavor even more. I think I will also try them some time without the brown sugar and see how that is. I made them for dinner tonight with Mom's Best Pork Chops (also from this site), lima beans and fettucinne pasta. It was a very delicious dinner!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
These carrots were quick and yummy! When I was sautéing the carrots I added 1/4 cup of water and covered with the lid, stirring occasionally for 10 min. Then I uncovered and turned the heat on high to dissolve most of the water. I added the balsamic vinegar and probably about 3 Tbs of brown sugar (I was too lazy to get the measuring spoon). It was so good. Wasn't too sweet, but then our family likes sweet things. My 19 mo. daughter and 3 year old niece ate 2 helpings (and my niece only likes to eat bread). Thanks for the recipe will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I followed the suggestion of roasting the carrots in 2T olive oil for 30 minutes then tossing in balsamic vinegar and roasting another 5 minutes. Served with balsamic glazed drizzled over for fantastic carrots I'll make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Really love this easy recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
These are great. I did change it the second time after discovering ginger carrots. I baked the carrots for 15 minutes at 400 degrees in a glass baking dish with a little oil. Meanwhile I mixed the vinegar (I used pomegranate flavored) and sugar with 1 teaspoon ground ginger and 1/2 teaspoon cardamom. After the carrots were done I mixed in the vinegar sauce, stirred to coat and roasted for another 10 minutes. They were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Nothing Special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
We like our carrots tender, but not cooked soft. This recipe is perfect. I followed instructions to the letter and the carrots were delicious. The recipe is so simple and delicious. What more could you want? The only reason to par-cook or steam is to make the carrots softer, a matter of personal taste. I must disagree with the reviewer who said the sugar isn't necessary, it balances the acid from the vinegar but still allows nicely. I served these as a side with Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast from this site. Dinner was a hit. This is my new favorite glazed carrot recipe. Thanks for a perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States