Balsamic Glazed Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
4.5 stars as I agree with others: steam, nuke or roast the carrots to begin with. Sauteing raw carrots in a skillet means constant stirring/monitoring, ugh. Anyway...I used regular carrots (peeled & diagonal 1/2" slices) then steamed for 10 minutes. I made the glaze seperately in a non-stick skillet adding 1 T butter. I have white balsamic I used. Added steamed carrots to glaze, sauteed & stirred for a bit. Dusted with fresh ground nutmeg/pepper & sea salt before serving. I liked the sweet with some tang. Used equal amounts brn sugar and balsamic. Even tho it's 'just carrots', I found them more interesting and tasty using this recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I really liked this recipie. I steamed my carrots first as reccommended in several other reviews and only used about 1 tsp of olive oil. I think next time I'll cut the vinegar down to 1 Tbsp, but was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Made this for our Christmas dinner as a side to beef tenderloin and twice baked potatoes. Wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
These carrots are so easy to make, but they are delicious! Even my husband who claims he doesn't like cooked carrots liked them! I am thrilled to finally find a recipe for carrots that he will eat. My kids loved them too. Definitely a winner in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These got rave reviews from even the skeptical/picky at my office Thanksgiving potluck. This recipe is cheap and simple to make, yet looks, tastes and sounds (when you say it to another person) fancy! Instead of sauteing, I roasted the carrots in the oven and tossed them separately with the reduction sauce. In retrospect, a few scallions or garlic cloves roasted along with the carrots would've been flavorful additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ren1216
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Really good! I didn't think my fussy BF would like these but he said they were the best carrots he's ever had. I did add a small squirt of honey because I was afraid he wouldn't like the tangy-ness, but it probably wasn't needed. Oh, and I followed the suggestion to microwave them for 5 minutes first, good idea. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Excellent! I cut regular sized carrots down to baby carrot proportions and it worked just as well. I've never sauteed carrots before, only boiled and/or mashed, so this recipe was a welcome change. Won rave reviews from everyone I served it to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
These were a hit at my Thanksgiving Dinner! Will put this recipe on my rotation...thanks Harry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Easy and Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I made these carrots for my husband who is a chef and he enjoyed them very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States