Balsamic Glazed Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
We like our carrots tender, but not cooked soft. This recipe is perfect. I followed instructions to the letter and the carrots were delicious. The recipe is so simple and delicious. What more could you want? The only reason to par-cook or steam is to make the carrots softer, a matter of personal taste. I must disagree with the reviewer who said the sugar isn't necessary, it balances the acid from the vinegar but still allows nicely. I served these as a side with Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast from this site. Dinner was a hit. This is my new favorite glazed carrot recipe. Thanks for a perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I read the reviews beforehand and decided to skip the brown sugar since carrots are naturally sweet, and we added a sprinkle of pepper and salt instead. We cooked ours in the oven at 425 degrees, then added the balsamic vinegar and put it back in at around 350 degrees (because something else was cooking at the time). Came out pretty good. My man's a raw carrot-lover, so we opted to keep them relatively crisp. Made an easy side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magee, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
These were AMAZING!! The first time I made them I kept the baby carrots whole, and they just didn't cook right. This time I cut them up into 1/4 in dime sized pieces and they turned out perfect. It did reduce the cooking time a bit - sauteed for about 8 minutes with the balsamic vinegar/sugar mix in for about 2 minutes. Definitely adding this to our staple side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMCHASER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elburn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plano, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Had these tonight with chicken. They were very good, my husband went back for seconds. Added a little more brown sugar then suggested. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Needs some salt. I salted at the beginning of cooking and then at the end with some finishing salt. Really good and helped get the weekday meal to the table in 20 minutes. Can't tell you if they are good reheated as we gobbled them all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Really enjoyed these carrots, though next time I might add just a smidge more vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUSHPUPPY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Jeff did not like these...I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie-0-Toole

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Love! Cheap and easy! These were tasty. They need to cook a little longer than stated. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Ard Louviere

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bainbridge, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
My husband absolutely loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Hart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I used regular carrots, peeled and cut into rounds. I did steam them first, simply sauteing them for 10 minutes wouldn't have cut it ;). It was easy, and tasty, and even the kids enjoyed it. I'll make this again, but need to tinker around a bit with the ratio of balsalmic vinegar vs brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottage Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 299) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Carrots

Fresh carrots cooked in a brown sugar glaze.

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States