Balsamic Glazed Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
My version of the balsamic glazed carrots is similar: toss the carrots with 2 T olive oil then roast in a 425 degree oven for 20 min or until carrots are done to taste. Coat carrots with 2 T balsamic vinegar and roast for 2-3 minutes or until vinegar has evaporated. I have found the addition of sugar to be unnecessary. I have passed this recipe to several people in the office and they all agree that it's terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
The carrots had a wonderful flavor; however, the saute cooking method took a LOT longer than 10 minutes.....and that was with the carrots cut in half lengthwise. Next time, I plan to steam them, then I will finish them in a skillet with the balsamic vinegar and brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Wow...so simple & flavorful! My tweaks: par-steamed (2 min) then sauteed in a little butter and olive oil...maybe another 2-3 minutes...finished w/equal amounts of brown sugar & good balsamic. Exquisite! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeaky6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Fantastic. I made slight changes. I first tossed the carrots in olive oil and sea salt then nuked for 5 min. Then sauteed on med high with 1 tbs Smart Balance, and the called-for amounts of brown sugar/balsamic vinegar. I sauteed until carrots were coated with a glaze. Perfect. And now the kitchen smells divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
I thought these were great! To assure they were done enough I added water to my saute pan at the beginning and boiled the carrots for about 5 minutes, then drained them and returned to the pan to finish per the instructions. We thought that the glaze ingredients could be doubled. After reduction, there wasn't a lot of glaze and we would have liked to taste it more strongly. I didn't have any olive oil, so substituted butter, which worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Thanks for the recipe. The carrots tasted great! Instead of baby carrots I peeled up regular carrots and sliced them in about 1/4 inch round slices. Also, I used a little bit more brown sugar than what the recipe called for. They taste great the next day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARK_AMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Haslet, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Yummy way to cook carrots. However, they need to be steamed first for a little...ten minutes is not enough time in the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hobart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I'm surprised I haven't reviewed these already. These have become a family favorite. We just love them. I've also used this method with sweet potato chunks. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
We thought this was pretty good. I used only 2c carrots and cooked them in only 2 tsp olive oil. When they were tender, I only used 1/2 TBLS balsamic vinegar to 1 1/2 TBLS brown sugar. This way, no ingrediant dominated the others but rather, complimented each other well. Pretty tasty and would make again when in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I made these on Thanksgiving as a nice alternative to honey glazed carrots. They have a nice sweet but tangy taste. To cut down on time and hassle I just used a bag of steamed carrot instead. This ommitted the need for olive oil and they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States