Balsamic Glazed Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
These carrots were pretty tasty, but the flavor wasn't strong enough for my liking. Next time, I may even try doubling the oil/vinegar amounts. I agree with other reviewers that it works best to steam the carrots first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This recipe was good, but nothing to write home about. The sauteeing method took twice as long as listed and I doubt I will make again because I have found faster and tastier baby carrot recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca17

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
These were real good! I don't eat cooked carrots much, I prefer them raw but was looking for something a little diffrent. Yummy! A nice change I really liked them! I was a little worried that the balsamic vinegar would be a little overpowering but it was just great! The only change I made was that I roasted mine in the oven rather than stir frying them on the stove top. 10 min. didn't seem like anywhere near enough time to get them cooked. I like mine a little crunchy, not completley soft & I still think 10 min. would have not been enough. So I took another reviewers advice and preheated the oven to 425 degrees & tossed the carrots with the olive oil. Baked for 20 min. Then mixed in the balsamic & brown sugar & baked again for another 2-3 min. Turned out perfect! They were cooked & still a little crunchy just the way I like them! They maybe could have been cooked a little longer but they were still good! You could still taste the carrot taste & the glaze gave it a lightly sweet flavor! My only complaint was that the glaze was a little runny...maybe next time I'll add a little cornstarch in to thicken it up a bit. But great recipe, my hubby & I finished them all up, there were no leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin with Keith & Sara
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Quick and easy.. Perfect side dish! I did steam the carrots in some chicken broth for a few mins before and added 1 more tablespoon of brown sugar. Overall very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin with Keith & Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Best carrots I ever tasted! Steamed first, sauteed in butter, then added balsamic vinegar and brown sugar. Very easy and delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Very good. I steamed them first, than sauteed with olive oil, then added the vinegar and a pinch of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I pretty much followed the recipe as written and thoroughly enjoyed this side dish. It was so quick and simple yet put a new spin on an old favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This is fantastic. Just made a little change. Doubled the sauce..only used 2 Tbsp balsamic..and 2 1/2 Tbsp sugar. My 9 year old taste tester said she liked them a little sweeter. Oh..and I steamed the baby carrots beforehand. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Took advice to steam prior to saute step. Used regular carrots cut up in sticks in place of baby carrots. It was a nice alternative to regular steamed carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catastrophiccook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I took another reviewers recommendation and steamed the carrots for about 8 minutes before sauteeing them till just almost fork tender. Flavor was quite good. I served these carrots with Orange Herb Roasted Chicken. I did add just a bit of orange zest, to compliment the chicken and I used butter instead of EVOO. I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States