Balsamic Glazed Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This recipe was really good! I followed other reviewers' reccomendations to steam the carrots first before sauteeing them to cut down on the cooking time. I sauteed them with olive oil and a little butter ('cause that always makes things better) and instead of brown sugar, I stirred in some honey and maple syrup. Absolutely delish! I have already made it for Thanksigiving and Christmas and will definitely keep making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Very good, but be Very gentle with the balsamic. It can take over the dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Fixed these to go with TG Dinner. They weren't exactly a crowd pleaser. It may have been they weren't exactly as pleasing to the eye as traditional carrots or it may have been the distinctly different taste. Probably won't serve to family or friends again but I thought these were okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
These are really good with a great flavor! Love the sweetness of the brown sugar with the tartness of the vinegar. Will definitely make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TNICHOLSLCC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bennington, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
These carrots were pretty tasty, but the flavor wasn't strong enough for my liking. Next time, I may even try doubling the oil/vinegar amounts. I agree with other reviewers that it works best to steam the carrots first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This recipe was good, but nothing to write home about. The sauteeing method took twice as long as listed and I doubt I will make again because I have found faster and tastier baby carrot recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca17

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
These were real good! I don't eat cooked carrots much, I prefer them raw but was looking for something a little diffrent. Yummy! A nice change I really liked them! I was a little worried that the balsamic vinegar would be a little overpowering but it was just great! The only change I made was that I roasted mine in the oven rather than stir frying them on the stove top. 10 min. didn't seem like anywhere near enough time to get them cooked. I like mine a little crunchy, not completley soft & I still think 10 min. would have not been enough. So I took another reviewers advice and preheated the oven to 425 degrees & tossed the carrots with the olive oil. Baked for 20 min. Then mixed in the balsamic & brown sugar & baked again for another 2-3 min. Turned out perfect! They were cooked & still a little crunchy just the way I like them! They maybe could have been cooked a little longer but they were still good! You could still taste the carrot taste & the glaze gave it a lightly sweet flavor! My only complaint was that the glaze was a little runny...maybe next time I'll add a little cornstarch in to thicken it up a bit. But great recipe, my hubby & I finished them all up, there were no leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrsejessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin with Keith & Sara
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Quick and easy.. Perfect side dish! I did steam the carrots in some chicken broth for a few mins before and added 1 more tablespoon of brown sugar. Overall very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin with Keith & Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Best carrots I ever tasted! Steamed first, sauteed in butter, then added balsamic vinegar and brown sugar. Very easy and delectable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Very good. I steamed them first, than sauteed with olive oil, then added the vinegar and a pinch of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Glazed Carrots

See how to make the perfect special occasion side dish.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States