Balsamic Cole Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
The dish was a bit bland, I used a full cabbage head and four carrot made into ribbons using potato peeler, added minced ginger & soy sauce which punched it up very nicely. This made the dish very satisfying and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I really loved this recipe, thank you for adding it to the site. :) I did make a few changes. First, I did not cook anything. Secondly, I omitted the cooking spray and the red cabbage. I doubled the cabbage to make up for the red cabbage I didn't add. (Only reason I didn't add the red cabbage was because I didn't have any on hand) I added about a tablespoon of Bertolli EV olive oil (first cold pressed). I used granulated garlic instead of powder. Mixed well with my hands. I do have to add I usually do not like coleslaw but this was very good. Also, this would be a nice added crunch to any wrap sandwich. As far as weight watchers points this is almost pointless. The only thing that has any points value is the olive oil but if you are making this for dinner times 4 people (with no leftovers) you are eating 1/4 tb olive oil. So maybe 1/2 point for the whole serving? Thank you again, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA
Living In: Onancock, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I wanted a quick coleslaw for an unplanned pulled pork. Tried this instead of a trip to the store, although I only had carrots and red cabbage on hand, but it still did the trick. Visiting family agreed it went really well on the applesauce bbq pork sandwiches I made. It was great for in a pinch and will probably make again even when I plan ahead better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stef Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
i made this recipe twice, one using more carrot than cabbage ( it was tastier this way). both times i used garlic paste, real onion, and rice vinegar.also add vinegar sparingly, because it has a very dominant smell. its a simple recipe, nothing fancy,a bit bland (especialy when the cabbage is dominant over the carrot), but very healthy and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. The amount of balsamic vinegar overwhelms the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This was a nice change from cold cole slaw and I love balsamic vinegar however the measurements seem a bit off. I used about 3 cups of bagged slaw mix and there was clearly not enough slaw for the amount of vinegar. A full bag of slaw mix or about 1/2 the vinegar for 3 cups would have been perfect. Good taste that would have been better with the right mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharmedChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Found this when looking for recipes that fit the diet requirements for the 21 day cleanse that my husband and daughter were doing! It was one of their favs, and we will likely continue to make it long after the "diet" is over! Quick, easy, and very tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
YES! It WAS like an eggroll without the wrapper! So I nuked a few whole cabbage leaves to soften them, then added some chopped boiled shrimp to the cabbage "slaw" and wrapped the mixture in the leaves. Another nuking to heat the whole thing up and it was FABULOUS! Carb-free eggrolls! Whoda think it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
We followed the directions perfectly this warm cole slaw is AMAZING! My husband and I both could not stop eating it! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSIECUEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Bear Lake, California, USA
Living In: Los Osos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I made this for myself and served it with chicken marinated in artichokes and garlic. The artichoke balanced the tang very nicely. Without the chicken/artichoke, I thought the vinegar in the slaw was too powerful, so go consider reducing the amount used. Admittedly, I wasn't precise with my measurements (I was hungry and I was tossing everything in the skillet ASAP), so I may have used too much vinegar. I used bagged coleslaw and matchstick carrots. I didn't have red cabbage or onion powder. I did add some red onion, which I would do again. This recipe is a great way to get in veggies and is perfect for Cycle 1 of the 17-Day Diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Lamb Chops with Balsamic Reduction

Tasty lamb chops are cooked on the stovetop with a tasty balsamic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States