Balsamic Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is one of my favorites. I let the chicken soak longer, usually a couple hours. I love how the sugar caramelizes when you cook the chicken and it's so moist and flavorful. We serve over rice. I could eat this every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I really enjoyed this recipe, but don't forget to season with salt. I noticed the recipe didn't include this and it's pretty bland without a dash. Went great with my mac and cheese and I have leftover for wraps, salads, etc. This recipe is a great addition to my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This is a keeper. I pounded the chicken so it was even thickness throughout, and marinated it for about 30 minutes. My marinade was basic Colavita balsamic vinegar, oregano, rosemary, garlic, a sprinkle of white sugar, and salt to offset the bitter undertone of less expensive balsamic vinegar. The oregano and rosemary were because I mysteriously could not locate any other Italian seasonings in the pantry. A gremlin has been cooking in my kitchen, I think. I made a triple batch of marinade, and used 1/3 as the marinade which was discarded afterward, and 2/3 as the sauce. I put the sauce on the stove top first and cooked it down until it slightly began to thicken, then added the chicken pieces, covered the pan, and put it in the oven at 350 degrees F to oven braise until it was tender. I had to do it in the oven because I did not have time to babysit the stove top for the few minutes it took to cook. I served it with roasted buttercup squash, and fresh green beans cooked on the stovetop covered in Swansons reduced sodium chicken broth, garlic, fresh ground black pepper, and a slice of streak-of-lean meat. I put a bit of cooked marinade over the chicken on the plate, and reserved the rest to season veggies, rice, or potato in the next couple of days. It was all a quick to prepare meal, attractive, and very well received by kids and adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I just tried this recipe, and it was great! I did tweak it a bit, however. I found the marinade to be a bit too acidic, so I added a bit of water, a bit more sugar and a splash of soy sauce and it came out beautifully! Wonderful with some steamed vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I was expecting a savory taste to the sauce and found it to be too sweet. I would reduce the sugar a little next time and probably add a littles salt or use regular chicken broth (I used low sodium chicken broth).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Delicious and easy recipe with ingredients I had on hand. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Amazing chicken!! My hubby and kids loved it. The sauce was really tasty - although a little oily when I reduced it for serving over the chicken. I added a little more garlic. Definitely will use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Muuuuch better grilled. Sooo delicious! I usually marinate for a day then grill it and OMG...heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Marinade/Sauce very yummy. I did the marinade for about an hour and a half but I would either marinade overnight or poke some holes in a thick chicken breast. Or use thin cutlets. I will be using this marinade/sauce on some thin cut pork chops tonight. I'm also thinking that when I grill up some steaks (if I ever get any propane) I'm going to try the sauce reduction on top. I did use a very good aged balsamic so that helps. I'm going to double the marinade/sauce as it is really really good on some steamed broccoli as well. I'm very happy I tried this recipe. I really wasn't up to making dinner last night but found this recipe and didn't think it was too labor intensive for a horrible cook such as myself. I've got to say the sauce is freaking awesome and would work on a wide variety of meats and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
made this tonight and everyone love it . great on top of salads if you let sauce cool down it good on top also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by g_dawg

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Braised Balsamic Chicken

This low-fat recipe makes a delicious dinner served over rice.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States