Balsamic Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This basic recipe ends up too vinegary and rubbery. I took the base ingredients and tweaked the steps to make a better dish. - Marinate Chicken in 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar and 1 T low sodium soy sauce, salt, pepper. Grill, pan fry, or bake - however you prefer your chicken. - Make a sweet potato mash with salt and pepper, and 1 t of brown sugar. - Make a balsamic reduction of 1/2 cup vinegar (or more if you want to batch). I like to add 1 T of butter and 1 t of brown sugar to my reduction. - Lay your cooked chicken on top of the sweet potato mash, and lightly drizzle with your reduction. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaFinDuJour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
the easiest way to make balsamic chicken is to use the first half cup as an overnight marinade, then bake the chicken (or grill it) then return pour the other half cup to serve. It is especially wonderful cold the next day and cut up into a salad. As for this recipe, baking chicken breasts at 400 covered for 40 minutes is way too much time. The breasts will stew or be rubbery, sometimes both. Easier to pan fry covered about ten minutes on each side with a medium to low flame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
My husband loved it! Chicken was sooo tender and flavorful. I put brown sugar and soy sauce into balsamic vinegar. I only baked chicken for 30 min and kept heat on 400. I also used regular potatoes because I didn't have sweet potatoes and served plain broccoli as a side. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I followed the advice of previous reviewers and didn't cook the chicken for quite so long - maybe more like 30 min. Also, I added a little paprika to the chicken and rosemary & thyme to the potatoes. Really tasty and really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elinor3
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This recipe was very quick and easy. I sauted chopped onions and browned the seasoned chicken. I also added pineapple apricot preserves to the balsamic vinegar, then reduced the sauce. I omitted the sweet potatoes. It was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
We really liked this recipe it's quick and very healthy. As suggested by another person, I could leave the chicken in balsamic vinegar for longer. To make the sweet potatoes crispy it needs to be cooked in a metal baking tray. I served it with steamed vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I found rhis dish easy, delicious, and healthy. My husband loved it. I sent it to my daughter and she and her husband liked it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This site has hundreds of chicken recipes that are better than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Really enjoyed this recipe. Will diffently make again always looking for new ways to make chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Gambrel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This was an okay duo of dishes. I used pork chops instead of chicken breasts. If you really like balsamic vinegar, you'll like the meat. The sweet potatoes were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States