Balsamic Bruschetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This is an amazing recipe! It is even great without cheese. I always cringed and turned up my nose at balsamic vinegar, but it is absolutely essential to this recipe. To me, it gives it that "bruschetta" taste. I've made it so many times without balsamic vinegar and it was always missing something and now I know what that something is! One tip I can give is to seed the tomatoes and take out the guts, it turns out more like salsa (not taste but texture) if you don't. I've also parboiled the tomatoes super fast just to remove the skins and that is great too. This is an amazing recipe. Thanks, Kathy Bias!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Delicious!! Made it for a party and it was all eaten. Changes I made: I mixed crushed garlic w/ extra virgin olive oil, brushed it onto the bread slices, and toasted them for about 10-15 min in the oven. The bread seemed a little TOO toasted at first, but after the tomato mixture had soaked into it long enough, it wound up being the perfect texture. I added about 1/2 a sliced red onion, added WAY more garlic because I don't believe in too much. OH and I also deseeded the tomatoes beforehand -- I cut each of them in half and scooped out the seeds/wet part with a grapefruit spoon, and I think that helped keep the texture perfect. If I had had more time, would have let the veggies sit longer in the vinegar to really get flavorful. But it tasted great regardless!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I love this recipe and served it 3 times over the holidays and it disappeared every time! I did use some yellow tomatoes too to add some more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Great recipe! The only thing I changed was I added some diced sweet onion to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Fantastic recipe. I added a lot of extra Parmesan and it was just so yummy! I tried it for seasoning and immediately started to chop more tomatoes because I knew that otherwise there would be nothing left by the time the bread was ready... Definitely a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia Rosani

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Great recipe big hit with friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I added thinly sliced garlic and feta stuffed olives. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Yummy! I gave 4 stars only because i made a couple changes. I made this up an hour ahead of being served and followed the recipie as written but added some onion. I also pulled a small piece of goat cheese out to soften. I smeared the crostini with the goat cheese, topped with mixture, and drizzled balsamic reduction. Served as accompaniment to pasta dish but could have just eaten this!!! Ty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
People LOVED this. Make sure it sits in the fridge for awhile so all of the flavors can combine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Kasper

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
perfect with 1/2 C finely chopped onion added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 444) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Balsamic Bruschetta

See how to make a simple fresh tomato appetizer with a little balsamic kick.

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States