Balsamic Bruschetta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Makes the perfect light appetizer/snack! I took the advice of others & threw in an extra handful of parm, just because i love cheese. I also toasted the bread w/ a drizzle of olive oil & a sprinkle of garlic powder, dried basil & parsley. Irresistable! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
557 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
Absolutely delicious. I experimented with this several ways, i.e. untoasted bread, toasted, putting the topping on top of untoasted bread and heating all the ingredients. All work but the toasted bread, cool toppings was best in our opinion. I also did a batch omitting the tomatoes and this was great as well. Love this recipe. Plan on making a huge batch and keeping it in the refrigerator for even a quicker appetizer. Very easy and quick. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
316 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I made this for a bridal shower, and it was a hit. I prepared the tomato mix the night before and toasted the bread about 15 minutes before the party started. I liked the cold mix on the warm bread. I also appreciated that this could be prepared the day before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
274 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
The only real way to serve this without the bread getting moist at all is to deseed the tomatoes and dice up the tomato flesh only. This is the only way that real Italian restaurants would serve it. Rub the sliced bread with a slice of garlic. Lightly toast the bread under a grill. Retreave bread from grill and place toppings on except the olive oil. Lastly, drizzle lightly over all with a little, but good, olive oil. Serve immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephinebat10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I made this exactly as written except I tripled it(needed to serve 22 people)and it was PERFECT! I served this on Panetini Toast(from Costco). I suggest squeezing most of the liquid out of each tomato before chopping.You don't want to have too much liquid diluting the ingredients and making the bread soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
This is great! I added 1/2 red onion though...and it was just enough. Also, I spooned the mixture onto the slices bread and baked it in the oven for 10 minutes...perfect. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
This was really good although it was a little bland - I threw in some balsamic viniagrette in the morning and it was awesome. I used this in a sandwich with really good ciabatta bread, proscuitto, and fresh mozzarella. Mmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I served this at a dinner party last night and everyone loved it! I had read the "most helpful" reviews to get tips and did the following. Cut Roma tomatoes in half and spoon out seeds. Lay halves down on paper towels to drain while making and mixing the other ingredients. I used measurements as per the recipe and I used really good, 18 year aged, balsamic vinegar (that, I think, was key to making this taste so good!). Next, I chopped tomatoes and mixed everything and refrigerated. I made the toasted slices by brushing olive oil on them, sprinkling each with garlic powder and Italian herbs, then toasted on a cookie sheet under the broiler. I let my guests spoon on the brushetta to the toast so they could take as little or much as they wanted. I noticed the mounds of brushetta grow on their toasts after they tasted it! Really great recipe; a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
This is awesome! The only things that I added was 1/4 of a diced sweet onion (a Vidalia), and I just topped my bruschetta pieces w/the parmesan as opposed to adding it to the mix. The balsamic vinegar gives it a bite that you don't get otherwise. Thanks Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Excellent! Served on top of toasted whole wheat baguette slices that were brushed with olive oil and garlic. I also added a little extra basil as I love the flavor. Have also served this on top of slices of fresh mozarella cheese...equally as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELSY
Home Town: Niles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Balsamic Bruschetta

See how to make a simple fresh tomato appetizer with a little balsamic kick.

Double Tomato Bruschetta

Make this easy, flavorful bruschetta appetizer.

Mushroom and Ricotta Bruschetta

Make a simple bruschetta with ricotta and sautéed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States