Balsamic Brown Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I thought this was a very easy, very flavourful summer salad. I was a bit pressed for time so I boiled the brown rice like a pasta which cuts down the cooking time by 20 to 40 minutes and it comes out exactly the same (don't know why people steam rice but that's a question for another day). I followed another reviewer's advice and added sunflower seeds. I didn't have any dried cranberries but I did have honeyed dates which I chopped up and added to the mix. Also made my own balsamic vinaigrette. The honey in the dates added the sweetness that this salad needed so I didn't add any to the dressing. Yum! Oh and this would be just as good as a warm salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Just made this with left over basmati, some dried cranberries and chopped red onion, but sunflower seeds instead of pine nuts (I'm allergic). Made my own balsamic dressing. A nice combination of sweet and salty, soft and crunchy... Curious to see how it holds up after a day - that will be the test of whether it is a potluck-worthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I love brown rice and liked this when made as directed - but to be really good it needed a bit more punch. I added a little chopped ginger and garlic and it was then worth 5 stars. A lovely, good-looking salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Good side dish... I skipped the celery and Splenda and served it warm. I also added a little salt & pepper, and used balsamic vinegar & olive oil in place of salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I made this tonight and used liquid stevia instead of splenda and a drizzle of molasses with my homemade Balsamic vinegar. Easy to make and really yummy. All ingredients are what I would always have in my pantry and fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Wow...a great way to use left over rice. I spiced it up with a Red Apple Balsamic and used plain white rice. Loved it. Will become one of those go-to recipes in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dancemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This so amazing! I had two cups of brown rice and wanted to dress it up for the other awesome recipe I was making - Pork Chops with Raspberry Sauce (you must try these together! ) I sauteed the onions and celery in oil, used about 1/4 cup straight balsamic vinegar and no sugar at all. I also served it warm and together this was one of my all time favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I served this as a warm salad and the whole family enjoyed it. I sauted the onions, celery, and crasins in a bit of olive oil and a sprinkle of seasoning salt. I had 3 cups of leftover brown rice that I added to the skillet. I used a few tablespoons of pomegranate balsamic vinegar which is very sweet omitting the need for the splenda or balsamic dressing. I will continue to use this as a way to use brown rice leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Reardan, Washington, USA
Living In: Ritzville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This salad was just too different with the brown rice- I'm trying it once more, but with white rice instead this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Delicious! I wasn't crazy about adding the Splenda so after reading other reviews, I went with the liquid Stevia and some honey. Instead of plain cranberries, I had a bag of mixed cranberries and raisins and I probably doubled the amount called for in the recipe. Also added some chopped pecans! Wonderful!! This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States