Balela Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Perfect as is! I do hold the tomatoes out until I am ready to eat the salad. That way it lasts longer in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Very good! Added cucumbers and some sliced feta. Didn't have any mint, so I substituted with dill and chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Followed recipe exactly. This was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Nice, fresh salad in the winter time. I made it for my lunch and it was great. (Not a fan of mint and it was good without out, in my view.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This is fantastic! I used less mint than was called for (only because I didn't have enough), did an extra tblsp of lemon juice and used a serrano pepper instead of a jalapeño because I like the flavor of serranos better. I think next time I will add another serrano but overall this is a great dish, fast, easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angelina Ban
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Delicious! I peeled my garbanzo beans, not , sure if that makes a difference or not...i just recently started to explore cooking Mediterranean foods. I also halved the recipe and left the seeds out of my jalapeno! I love the tangy flavor, might add some cumin next time that i saw in another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelina Ban

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I recently took this to a potluck picnic at a winery. It was gone quickly, everyone loved it. I skipped the onion as I am not a fan of raw onion, and it wasn't missed. I substituted a serrano chile pepper as my jalepeno was very mild, and I did serve feta on the side as an option as Kevin suggested. The feta was a nice complement. I did like having it on the side as I think it could have gotten a bit liquified if it was in the salad all day. I also used fresh herbs and spices and good olive oil. It was a huge hit, everyone asked for the recipe. This is easy to pull together and a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ebianconi
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I made a version of this for a 4th of July party and it got eaten up pretty fast. It was a pretty mixture, and I hanged it by adding an extra T of vinegar, 2 chopped stalks of celery (that I would have subbed for a cucumber if I had it, but it needed a crunch) I would use a red onion instead of white next time. I also used a half of a tomato cut up with the seeds removed because I don't like cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I really enjoyed this. The only changes I made was that I used a red onion (what I had on hand) and 1/2 of a jalapeno pepper. Next time I think I will use the whole pepper, it wasn't overly hot. I did not bother to blend the oil, lemon juice, etc, just poured it over and mixed. One of the beauties of this is it can lend itself to add ons such as chicken, turkey, place it on a bed of greens, etc. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I love this salad. I didn't feel like taking out the blender so I just mixed the dressing ingredients by hand and left out the jalapeño and it was very yummy ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States