Balela Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ebianconi
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I made a version of this for a 4th of July party and it got eaten up pretty fast. It was a pretty mixture, and I hanged it by adding an extra T of vinegar, 2 chopped stalks of celery (that I would have subbed for a cucumber if I had it, but it needed a crunch) I would use a red onion instead of white next time. I also used a half of a tomato cut up with the seeds removed because I don't like cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I really enjoyed this. The only changes I made was that I used a red onion (what I had on hand) and 1/2 of a jalapeno pepper. Next time I think I will use the whole pepper, it wasn't overly hot. I did not bother to blend the oil, lemon juice, etc, just poured it over and mixed. One of the beauties of this is it can lend itself to add ons such as chicken, turkey, place it on a bed of greens, etc. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I love this salad. I didn't feel like taking out the blender so I just mixed the dressing ingredients by hand and left out the jalapeño and it was very yummy ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Yummy! I usually don't like garbanzo beans but this salad changed my mind. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Maksymiw
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
What a fabulous salad. So refreshing. I didn't have any garbanzos so I used white beans. They were a good substitute. So easy to make and such a zingy flavour. 100%.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Pretty good- I did add Greek yogurt to the dressings that was a great success. Also the jalapeño I used was REALLY spicy so I added a chopped up apple to the salad to help sweeten it a bit and it was a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Just like trader joes, but tastes even better as its as fresh as you can get!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
So easy to make! I live on this stuff. I use just a tablespoon of oil to lighten it up. I sometimes throw a few olives in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I am surprised the recipe or no one has mentioned the lack of sumac!Although I haven't made the recipe tonight I will this weekend and will report back how this recipe does with a little added sumac.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Like some others, I tried this recipe after having Trader Joe's Balela Salad. This recipe is not exactly the same (Trader Joe's uses sumac spice) but is very tasty and I will make it again. I made this without the jalapeno and was happy with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Garden Salad

This colorful, healthy salad stars black beans, corn, tomatoes, and edamame.

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States