Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I followed the recommendations made by others (made an extra 1/2 recipe of the syrup, lowered the temp) and it came out great! Everyone loved it! Some people said they didn't taste the honey as much as other ones that they have had, but I could taste it. Overall, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy McSprouts Couillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I use half the nuts and double up on the honey. Love this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I made baklava for the first time with this recipe, and a came out so well! I used half measures of the ingredients, since I was making it for a smaller party. Some tips to emphasize: 1) Melt the butter beforehand, and use a pastry brush to spread it on the dough. I first used a teaspoon to target general areas of dough, and the used the brush to spread it around. 2) Before you put your layers in the oven, be sure to cut the dough. I made it into squares with solid success. 3) This makes a lot of baklava. I made 24 squares even with half the recommended measures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jonospark

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Easy and delish. Made 1/2 recipe in an 8x8 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
After reading everyone's reviews I made 1.5x the amount of sauce, cooled the sauce before pouring it into the hot baklava. This made the baklava intensely sweet, but still very good. Next time I think I'll go with the prescribed amount of sauce so it's not so rich. This recipe calls for an obscene amount of butter. You only need to spread enough butter on the layers to so that they are barely covered. I melted the full cup of butter, and when I was finished I probably didn't use half of it. Next time I'll melt half a stick of butter, then melt more butter as necessary. I used almonds and pecans and it was wonderful. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
WOW. THIS WAS FANTASTIC. Two inexperienced bakers here (aka college kids) were able to pull this off with ease on the first try! We followed the directions for the most part, but did create the sauce before anything else then chilled it in the fridge. We also didn't cut all the way through before adding sauce. Our nut mixture was 10oz of walnuts 6oz of almonds. Make sure the phyllo dough is thawed out all the way before working with it, or it will crumble and flake apart. We didn't use the damp towel. Made 16 triangles. Watching the video beforehand was helpful to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Too sweet! cut the sugar, and up to 3/4 cup honey. or jet reduce sugar. Keep watch to make sure it doesn't burn. I didn't quite reach 50 minutes. Negatives aside, tastes very good and traditional. Brought it in for a Greek history presentation in English class and everyone loved it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bake-a-holic
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Amazing!!! i come from a persian background so this went down a treat! Will definetly be making loads more! just be aware, this recipe certainly makes much more than 18..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This is a really good recipe! I followed the advice of other reviewers and it came out perfect the first time I made it. I used 3/4 cup water instead of 1 cup so the syrup would be thicker, and I also made the syrup before I even started the baklava so it would have time to cool to avoid sogginess. I also sprinkled finely ground nuts on top of it as a garnish (after baking) and used pecans which were tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I've tasted a lot of baklava, but by far this recipe is the best one! this baklava tastes like something at the end of a rainbow. I looked up this recipe for a project at school. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States