Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BStack
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
This was perfection!!! I did follow the changes suggested by others: 1. Made 1 1/2 the sauce and it was the perfect amount! 2. Made sauce early and let it cool before adding to the baklava. 3.Didn't cut the baklava all the way down until after the sauce cooled. 4. Lightly buttered (someone said too much butter would make it soggy). 5. Cooked it at 300- 325 and watched it until it was just browned on top. 6. I used walnuts, almonds, and pecans. It's pretty much the best dessert I've ever had and I have had a LOT of desserts. I've had baklava in Turkey and Greece and mine was just as good. Make this!!!! It's yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
This was so easy. I'd been longing to make Baklava and picked this recipe. I followed it exactly except I did put a cinnamon stick in the syrup. My husband took about 30 pieces (I put them in cupcake papers) to work and they were gone in a flash. When he told them I had made it they were suprised, they thought it had come from a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Baker
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Hubby requested I make something "impressive" for his work potluck, so I figured it wouldn't hurt to try making baklava for the first time! This recipe made me look like a baklava making pro. Sure, the tops didn't turn out nicely pressed (more wispy and flakey than I wanted) but the flavor and texture was spot on. I used walnuts for the filling, added lemon zest to my syrup and topped with crushed pistachios. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
First time making it and got rave reviews. I did 1.5 recipes of syrup like some reviewers mentioned and did not use it all. Would be fine with just the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
With puff dough .it.s Baqlava possible so that you throw closed dough in oil fry :Like you do that in shape of mini size.With sweetening it in sweet rose water syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
The recipe is works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Russell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
My father loves Baklava so I make it for him at least 2 times a year. I used more nuts and added almonds and walnuts. I also didn't use all of the syrup because I noticed that is too heavy if you do. Great recipe though! !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cinnamon McDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I followed the recipe almost exactly. I did use a maybe 2 or 3 more tablespoons of butter, and I added pistachios and pecans. Turned out AWESOME and was a big hit at our office Christmas party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seabrook, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Excellent, have made several times. Make sure you allow the sugar honey mixture to simmer for at least 20 minutes, will thicken after it cools off in the actual pastry, and that's what you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trudie

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States