Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Easy and delish. Made 1/2 recipe in an 8x8 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
After reading everyone's reviews I made 1.5x the amount of sauce, cooled the sauce before pouring it into the hot baklava. This made the baklava intensely sweet, but still very good. Next time I think I'll go with the prescribed amount of sauce so it's not so rich. This recipe calls for an obscene amount of butter. You only need to spread enough butter on the layers to so that they are barely covered. I melted the full cup of butter, and when I was finished I probably didn't use half of it. Next time I'll melt half a stick of butter, then melt more butter as necessary. I used almonds and pecans and it was wonderful. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
WOW. THIS WAS FANTASTIC. Two inexperienced bakers here (aka college kids) were able to pull this off with ease on the first try! We followed the directions for the most part, but did create the sauce before anything else then chilled it in the fridge. We also didn't cut all the way through before adding sauce. Our nut mixture was 10oz of walnuts 6oz of almonds. Make sure the phyllo dough is thawed out all the way before working with it, or it will crumble and flake apart. We didn't use the damp towel. Made 16 triangles. Watching the video beforehand was helpful to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Too sweet! cut the sugar, and up to 3/4 cup honey. or jet reduce sugar. Keep watch to make sure it doesn't burn. I didn't quite reach 50 minutes. Negatives aside, tastes very good and traditional. Brought it in for a Greek history presentation in English class and everyone loved it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bake-a-holic
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Amazing!!! i come from a persian background so this went down a treat! Will definetly be making loads more! just be aware, this recipe certainly makes much more than 18..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This is a really good recipe! I followed the advice of other reviewers and it came out perfect the first time I made it. I used 3/4 cup water instead of 1 cup so the syrup would be thicker, and I also made the syrup before I even started the baklava so it would have time to cool to avoid sogginess. I also sprinkled finely ground nuts on top of it as a garnish (after baking) and used pecans which were tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I've tasted a lot of baklava, but by far this recipe is the best one! this baklava tastes like something at the end of a rainbow. I looked up this recipe for a project at school. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Made just as recommended. I couldn't spend the money on pistachios (four boys eat like there is no tomorrow) so I used pecans. It was very good. As suggested by others, I might make a bit more of the syrup next time. They turned out adequately moist but it is nice for them to be a bit more gooey. Very good and I will make them again - maybe next time with pistachios because I prefer it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kwgonzalez
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I didn't change a thing. Although next time I make this and there will be a next time, I will add less of the sweet sauce. Delicious but alittle to wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwgonzalez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Awesome. Followed a few of the tips. Have made 3 batches in 2 months.yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States