Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
10 star recipe! This is just amazing, I took the baklava to a football party and everyone loved them and wanted the recipe, I made them exactly to your recipe, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I love the flavor of this baklava, but it turned out a bit soggy. I suspect I used too much butter on the phyllo layers, as I ran out about 2/3 of the way through assembly. Next time, I'll go a little lighter. I used a mix of pecans, walnuts, and peanuts, but I think next time I will stick with pecans only. I don't think the texture of the peanuts was quite right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Just made this. It is good but I didn't care for the vanilla in the syrup. Have had baklava over the years in many Greek diners in NJ and none ever tasted like they had vanilla in it. Was somewhat disappointed after all the work that went into this. When I make this again, I will not use the vanilla nor will I use so many nuts. It seemed as if I had too much... Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksburg, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Placitas, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I use half pecans and half walnuts, as well as adding lemon juice and zest into the sauce. My father-in-law, who is Greek, has told me it is the best Baklava he has ever eaten because it isn't overpowering with sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe & tastes just like what we had in Greece & Turkey (moreso in Turkey, the shops are everywhere, with Turkish Delight!)...never mind the syrup is thin, it's better after it has cooled & soaked for a day (store at room temp) & there is no trace of syrup left because it has all soaked in! Thank you for sharing this great recipe! I hint of orange or lemon zest might add an interesting essence, I'll have to try it, but it's delicious without & I never noticed orange or lemon flavor in Turkey or Greece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I don't have any tips to add, but for the baklava/phyllo rookies like me, don't worry if the phyllo breaks or tears doesn't fold right as you assemble. It still turns out great and you can't tell after it's baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CANVASWRITER
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
Make the sauce first, in fridge. I also make 1 1/2 times sauce. Also add1/2 tsp. of Almond extract with vanilla. Pulse the nuts in food processor. Add 1/4 cup sugar and cinnamon, dash of nutmeg and cloves to the nut mixture. I use one of the two packages of Phyllo dough first, leaving the other in the refrigerator still in it's plastic wrap. I don't bother with the towel/plastic wrap, I work quickly so the dough doesn't dry out. When I'm done with the first package, I take out the second and do the same. I have found I need about three sticks of butter when buttering the leaves of dough. I use a 2 inch brush, and I hold the corners and do the Outside of the leaves first which locks down the leaf then I quickly do the insides. Don't cut all the way to the bottom, about 1/2 inch from the bottom so the liquid doesn't sit in the bottom of the pan and bottom is still crisp. Don't use too much butter, that is another cause for sogginess. Pour cooled sauce on the hot Baklava and let sit cool, Finish cutting all the way through. Store in a shallow cardboard box lined with parchment I use shirt gift boxes. I also freeze some for later, it freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Syrup needed orange or lemon peel, but great otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by madelenepoon
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
A really good recipe. I baked them for the first time and my family loved them very much. However, I did add a little rosewater into the nut mixture and syrup, because I love the combination of rosewater and nuts. One thing though, remember not to pour too much syrup. I drenched mine, it tasted good but not a good idea if you have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
It was my co-workers birthday and he requested I make these (I'm the office baker so everyone gets to pick what they want me to make the for their birthday). Baklava is his favourite dessert so no pressure right? Lol He ended up eating the whole tray to himself ..luckily I made two. Lol. Everyone commented that it was "the best baklava they had ever tasted". Needless to say I will ow be making these every year for his birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States