Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
GREAT Baklava recipe! I followed the other reviewers advice and made the sauce first and let it cool while prep & baking the baklava. I also used a combo of walnuts and pistachios. So simple & delicious! I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Made this for a dessert competition and won! Worth the time, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This was my first time making baklava. It was so easy and the best I've ever had. I read the other reviews and used just a little butter and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
!! LOVE THIS RECIPE-- Just made it last night- for a fundraiser at my local hospital. Everyone who bid today on the baklava plates loved it!! I will agree with other reviews (THANK YOU FOR THE HELP!!)---yes, make 1/2 more of the syrup- make the syrup first- and refrigerate- definitely toast the nuts (I used Pecans and Walnuts)--put the nuts in a big ziploc bag and beat them well!--USE PARCHMENT PAPER in the baking dish!! and SPARE THE BUTTER-- I ended up making 2 dishes --baked in 9 by 13 inch pyrex glass, and the first round I used WAY to much butter-- GO LIGHT on the butter!! What a great recipe-- this will be in my permanent collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Someone better hide these from mama! Mama being me! Delicious, although next time I think I'll add a little punch to the nuts with nutmeg and cinnamon. Also, I added a few squirts of lemon juice to the sauce. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaclynn G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Perry Hall, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Love Love Love this. This has become one of my Christmas treat staples. Everyone loves it/says its the best they've had. And they think its super fancy. Followed the directions given and used walnuts for the filling. This also freezes well at least for a while. I usually make it a few days before everything else. It tastes awesome slightly frozen! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Marie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
lovely recipe! I had so much fun making this with my mom's friend. (she is pro at this!) She had never heard of putting cinnamon in with the nuts, but it was a nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This was AMAZING! I made one and a half times the syrup and kept everything else the same. I used chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This was the first time my wife and I ever made Baklava. It was a bit of work and we were worried but it was a hit. From our more fickle baklava eating friends to our first time eaters--this was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This is amazing! I followed the modifications recommended by the other reviewers and it was so super good. I used walnuts and hazelnuts and roasted them. I made (1.5times) the sauce beforehand and let it cool while I made the baklava. I worked quickly with the phyllo dough, so I didn't use a damp towel to cover it, but I did cut it to the length of my pan. I have a nice silicon pastry brush that was perfect for spreading the melted butter on the pastry sheets. I cut the baklava before I baked it, but I didn't cut all the way through. I let it cool for about 30 minutes before pouring the sauce over it. It turned out so super good! I will definitely, definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barboursville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 1,400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States