Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was really good but the recipe is written in a slightly confusing way to someone who has never made baklava before. Maybe define between sheets and layering more? My dough came separated into two rolls already and each were the perfect size for my pan so I didn't have to cut it. I realized early on that the 2-3 tbsp of nuts per layer wasn't very much and gave me a very sparse layer of nuts so I used about 5 tbsp of nuts per layer which I liked much better. After I was done I stuck the whole pan in the freezer for a couple hours to flash freeze and then I wrapped each piece in plastic wrap and stuck them all in a freezer bag so I can have a single piece whenever I want one but without tempting myself to all of them at the same time- I have no will power against baklava haha. For anyone who felt the same about the directions being confusing, seeing this would have made it more helpful: Place two sheets of dough in pan, butter thoroughly. Repeat until you have 4 layers of 'dough, dough, butter'. Sprinkle 2 - 3 tablespoons of nut mixture on top. Top with two sheets of dough, then a layer of butter and nuts. Continue to layer two sheets of dough, butter and nuts until you have 6-8 sheets of dough left. Layer the remaining dough on top, 2 sheets at a time, buttering between so that the top is comprised of 6-8 butter brushed sheets etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gildawen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This was delicious! I watched the video listed with this recipe and that helped me get a visual for the layering process. I recommend using real butter to brush the sheets-not margarine or Pam. The butter flavor really shines through and helps balance the sugar/honey. I used hazelnuts because they were cheap, and I couldn't taste them too much so I'm glad I didn't need to splurge on walnuts/pecans. Also-my phyllo sheets came out of their package pretty wrinkled and broken, I just did my best with it and it didn't affect the final product in any way. Great, fool proof recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
1 word AMAZING!! Never made baklava before & it was simple & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Tastes just as baklava should. It's sweet, sticky, crispy, and decadent. I did not cut the pastry sheets, I just folded them onto themselves. The amount of butter listed is plenty. Do not saturate your sheets in butter or they will not crisp. Also, I suggest leaving the amount of syrup the same, or it will be sickeningly sweet. This took me about twenty minutes to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSelvidio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I never made Baklava before or worked with phyllo dough for that matter so I was not sure what to expect. I have only eaten baklava once before and it was from the Biltmore Estates Bakery in Ashville, NC. This recipe was simple to follow and the end result was delicious. I used pecans even though the recipe did not specify the exact kind of nuts to use. This is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I chose this recipe to try, and I'm really glad I did. I'm also glad I didn't read all the reviews before I made it, because I followed it as written and we love it! I've only had baklava as made by the Greek monastery near my home, and this is actually better in my opinion. It's not quite as sticky sweet as the baklava we get from the monastery bakery. I've never used phyllo before, and that was a bit of a nightmare. I don't know if it was something I did or what, but many of the sheets on the inside of the rolls were coming apart. I just plowed ahead and put the puzzle together and it came out fine. I melted the butter because it made sense and only realized that the recipe didn't specifically state that after reading the reviews! I watched the pan when the time got close to 40 minutes (the recipe does say ABOUT 50 min, after all) and I took it out at about 45 minutes - Perfect. Don't have any idea why there is such a range of cooking times in the reviews - mine was still very pale until just before the 40 minute mark. To our family the whole thing is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe. As soon as that sauce caramelized, i went ahead and dug in for that first slice. I went for another. I called the hubby to come down from his mancave to try it. He had 2 and was walking around with it, swaying his head like Stevie Wonder while moaning in yummy heaven. This was at around 2pm so it was just snacking. I did not digress too much from the recipe and it was perfect just as it is. In fact, it was just a minimal modification. I did not realize that I did not have vanilla extract until I was back from the store, so instead, I steeped half a cinnamon stick while simmering (yes, I know...if somebody asked me what I would more likely find in somebody's pantry, vanilla extract or cinnamon, I would say vanilla extract!) For the nuts, I used my left over walnuts and bought pecans to make the 1 pound. It was cheaper than the other nuts. I also followed Sandra lee's suggestion not to cut the Baklava all the way to the bottom to keep the sauce from spilling out and allowing it to seep through every nook and cranny. This is very easy to make. Brushing every other sheet of phyllo dough with butter was the most time consuming. As I logged in here to make this review, I saw that somebody suggested using a spray bottle to apply the butter. I have to remember to do that next time. Yes, there will definitely be a next time. And a next one. And a next one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYSTRESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paranaque, National Capital Region, Philippines
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Super recipe, and great results my first time out. Like the other reviews suggested, I made an extra half syrup recipe, used a food processor for the nuts, added 1/8 tsp clove and some sugar to the nut mixture, and used a spray bottle for the melted butter. This last tip helped me cut the butter by half, and believe me, I covered each layer with butter. Cooling before slicing helped, as did chilling the syrup. Very tasty recipe, labor intensive, but worth it. Resist the temptation to use more than a few tablespoons of nut mixture per layer. I thought the first few nut layers looked to sparse, so I added another TB or two. This made the layer too nutty when baked. As I started to run short on the nuts and made the last 5 layers or so with the recommended 2-3 TB of nuts per layer, it produced a much lighter and enjoyable result. So in short, don't overload the nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Very Tasty. I used extra instructions from both reviewers sandra lee and Elena. Everything seemed to work out very well, saving some time and work. It tastes even better with pure honey (raw and uncooked). A mixture of pecans and almonds is also fantastic! I'll definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelBaker

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This recipe is fantastic! It is requested every Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,441) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States