Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by proudmomma
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proudmomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This recipe is amazing! First time I've ever made baklava or worked with filo dough and it was so much easier than I thought it was going to be! I didn't find it difficult at all, only a bit time consuming. I did take the adivce of some of the reviewers and made the syrup first and let it cool before spooning ot over the piping hot pastry. It sizzled! Totally awesome. This is my go-to recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This was delicious, but just a little more sweet than what I am used to. Maybe next time we will leave off the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Wow! It was super fantastic! Sean and the boys loved it. Crispy and honey on top, only to get more crispy and buttery honey on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Delicious & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This is an Amazing recipe, and is pretty easy. Like alot of others I melt the butter and brush it on the sheets of dough. I also start cooking the sauce before I start on the Baklava, when its done I put it in the refrigerator to cool. Then as soon as I take the Baklava out of the oven I pour on the now cooled honey sauce, this has always insured the Baklava is crunchy and not soggy. I have had so many complements people just love it the best complement I got was from someone saying, "The last time I had Baklava this good, I was in Italy"... it doesn't get better than that :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetbutterfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I always assumed Bakalava was to hard to make, with this recipe it was simple. Phyllo dough does take time to get used to. It was yummy! I see this at many ladies nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I tried the vegan version of this recipe, and it turned out perfectly, especially the syrup. I used 8 oz of walnuts and 4 oz of almonds and substituted Smart Balance for butter and agave syrup for honey. I only used 1/2 cup water to 1 cup agave (it might have been too much agave, since it's sweeter than honey). I also added a dash of nutmeg and clove, and 2 tsp of vanilla rather than 1. It was a huge hit at a family get-together and now they are requesting it for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! It was easy to make and turned out perfect. I recommend melting the butter and using a pastry brush and running the nuts through the food processor. I brought it to work and it was a hit among everyone! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stockton, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
OHHHHMMMMMGGGGG! This is tooo scrumptios for words. This is my first try and it came out awesome! I will note that the nuts would have been better served if they had been chopped fine. My rough chopped pecans were good but would have been even better chopped finer. I also added a bit more cinnamon, a half a teaspoon or so, to the sugar/honey/water mix just cause I like it. And I will do that the next time. I am making this for every family event forever. It was just too easy and ohhhhh so gooood. Thank you Neonwillie for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States