Baklava II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I like this recipe because it has more syrup than others do and because of the amount of honey-taste that comes through. I always need a bit more butter than recipe calls for; I butter every sheet. I don't have a scale but use 4 cups of nuts that I then chop up - some fine, others a bit bigger for better "mouth feel". A mixture of walnuts, pistachios and almonds is interesting. When making, I cover the filo with the plastic sheet it's wrapped in and then use a towel on top - works fine. Today I poured cold syrup over hat baklava; I'll next try hot syrup over cold baklava. I added orange peel to the syrup - about 1/3 of the orange - hubby wants more next time. Spices for the nut mixture were cinnamon, allspice and a touch of nutmeg. My only caveat is on the syrup - don't turn your back on it or it can boil over very fast. It is better on day 2-3 after flavors blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Best Ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
This recipe is really close to the one I once got from my Greek landlady. I use pecans instead of almonds, since I have so many pecan trees in my yard. I also use brown sugar to mix with the nuts for layering, for a richer baklava.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This was too sweet for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NightStars

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
ditto on too much nuts. used mostly honey and a little water and no sugar. This is just cuz I have lots of honey from the hive that I wanted to use. It turned out pretty good. 3 cups honey + 1ish cup water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annypanny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Canaan, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This was SOOOOOOO good. And really easy! My daughter and I made it together. It does take some time, but not as much as I had anticipated. It got rave reviews from co-workers. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I was very nervous working with the phyllo dough, it is so delicate. This recipe was very easy to follow, i just wished I had followed it more closely... :) That being said, you have to remember how many layers you have put down. Also, don't use too many nuts... I unfortunately added too many nuts :( I had a variety of nuts almonds, walnuts and pecans...again too many. Oh well, it did have a good flavor, just too many nuts...one more thing, i took out 1 cup of sugar, because you are already adding 1 cup of honey. It was ok with, that but next time, I might go with 1/2 cup of sugar and 1 cup of honey and see how that goes... good luck... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
we just like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
EXCELLENT!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shellsburg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Made this three times so far. My middle eastern friends couldn't get enough! Many compliments!! Worth the time. Use spray margarine rather than melted butter and a pastry brush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States