Baklava II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This was Great!! We made it in a little assembly line with 3 people, it was lots of fun to do. I cut back a little on the syrup that is poured over the top, and I used walnuts, and less than the recipe says to (Im not a huge nut fan). This was a great recipe, and really lots of fun to make! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Wonderful! This was my first time ever using phyllo dough, and what a pain to work with! But this recipe is great and it was a huge success. I made this for work and let my co-workers be the guinea pigs. They all raved about it. I followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious. A little moist, but I was told by every one at work that that was the way they liked it and not to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Good classic recipe. Assume you will need ludicrous amounts of butter so brushing can be fast, easy and not interrupted by scrambling to melt bore in the middle. Also, a whole lemon worth of fine zest and a splash of almond extract in the honey syrup is good. I think this recipe underestimates the time for simmering, as you need to stir constantly until it thickens or your arm falls off - (its worth it). Finally, stay with me this sounds odd but trust me here: instead of just melted butter, if you use about one part high quality extra virgin olive oil for every for parts butter it lends just a little Mediterranean savory kick to enhance the pistachios.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
wow!! this is a great recipe. I had never worked with phyllo dough before and was scared, but it turned out okay! (just keep it covered with plastic wrap) I also did not brush every single layer with butter, just the top of each of the 4 (Although brushing the last couple layers would make it easier to cut). I also subbed the almonds for 1/2 pecans, 1/2 walnuts and added a little cardamom to the nut mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
To echo someone earlier: This Is It. I've been dreaming of this recipe since the first time I tasted baklava, homemade by my best friend's mom 13 years ago :) After many disappointments from other recipes and storebought baklava, this is the sweet stuff that I remember -- so if you don't like sweet, check out another recipe. My tip: do NOT generously butter every single layer, or it'll end up dripping butter -- not the ideal baklava. I'll try spray butter next, or every 2 layers. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I was just wondering if anyone else had the amount of nuts left over that I did???will have enough to make many more desserts. Seems great though, it is in the oven as I write this.Thanks for the recipe, I have been looking for this, for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
This is by far the best baklava. delicious and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
This was a wonderful recipe! A couple tips are, Make sure to keep the phyllo dough covered with a damp cloth, or it drys out. Also I took out 1/2 cup of the butter and 1/2 sugar and it was great. I don't think that it would be any better if I had put it all in. Thanks so much for the recipe! There's only one BIG problem with it... I CAN'T STOP EATING IT!!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesusislife

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
I am not known as a great cook but I certainly impressed my sister in laws with this one! It was easier than I thought & turned out beautifully. If I can make this, anyone can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
I made this for Thanksgiving and plan on making it again for Christmas. It's a little time consuming, but very easy. My kids did most the work and had fun while making it. But the best part was eating it! It is sooo yummy! I made a few changes to meet our tastes, I used pecans instead of almonds, and omitted the cloves (I hate cloves). I'm sure it would be great with other kinds nuts if you like them better. A very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States