Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
USE PISTACHIOs is the key to a more original baklava (according to my Turkish hubby). Walnuts are cheaper but pistachios definately make the baklava tastes better. Skip all those cloves and cinnamon, that stuff is for the Americanized taste. Taste the nut, butter and the good syrup. Here is my syrup: purified water 1 3/4 cup, a small rectangular 2 inch cinnamon bark, 2 thin slice of ginger, 2 inches lemon peel (yellow part only), a touch (approx 1 tsp) of lemon juice. Let all those things boiled and simmer until the liquid reduce to 1 cup. Add 3/4 cup sugar and stir until dissolve, 1/2 tsp pure vanilla, 1 tbsp orange juice (no pulp)and turn the heat off. Add 1/2 cup of honey. The syrup should be a light touch of golden color, and if you like you can put a 1/2 tsp of rose water or jasmine water. Just make sure the temperature of the Baklava and the syrup is not the same, one have to be cooler than the other or you will get some very soggy baklava.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Some of the other reviews should definitely be consulted. I poured hot syrup on hot baklava and got a big moushy mess... I'll try it again with one or the other cold...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
THIS RECIPE IS THE BEST OF ALL THE BAKLAVA RECIPE'S I'VE TRIIED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This is a great recipe! walnuts are better than pecans. to add flavor, you can take grounded pistachios and sprinkle them. take the advice and dont use cloves or cinnamon. you might want to add more syrup. remember not to pour hot syrup on hot baklava; one has to be cold, the other warm. you can switch the layers. for example i put seven layers of dough then walnuts then 7 more then butter, and then 7 more. then the butter and the pistachios. this is a great recipe though i think the syrup is too sweet. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I added less water, simmered longer, and didn't add all the syrup I made...only adding syrup until the phylo dough was saturated. I used walnuts becasue they are cheaper. Pistachios would be too Lebanese, not Greek, so I would stick with the pecans or walnuts. This recipe has been a favorite at all my holiday parties, and even for small sweet snacks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westmoreland, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
The taste was good but was way too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arlyn G
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Its great and easy to make this. I use Almonds instead of the recommended nut.I add orange blossom water and rose water as well to make it smells nice.With the syrup i add few tsp of the lemon juice and zest of lemon as well.My husband and his algerian friend loves it.My son loves it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
My family did enjoy this and we will make it again but I might cut down a little on the butter that is left to pour on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This is a true Five Star rating *****!!!!!! The Dessert is out of this world!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
These are the best, especially when you have guests!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States