Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Some of the other reviews should definitely be consulted. I poured hot syrup on hot baklava and got a big moushy mess... I'll try it again with one or the other cold...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
This is a true Five Star rating *****!!!!!! The Dessert is out of this world!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
The taste was good but was way too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
USE PISTACHIOs is the key to a more original baklava (according to my Turkish hubby). Walnuts are cheaper but pistachios definately make the baklava tastes better. Skip all those cloves and cinnamon, that stuff is for the Americanized taste. Taste the nut, butter and the good syrup. Here is my syrup: purified water 1 3/4 cup, a small rectangular 2 inch cinnamon bark, 2 thin slice of ginger, 2 inches lemon peel (yellow part only), a touch (approx 1 tsp) of lemon juice. Let all those things boiled and simmer until the liquid reduce to 1 cup. Add 3/4 cup sugar and stir until dissolve, 1/2 tsp pure vanilla, 1 tbsp orange juice (no pulp)and turn the heat off. Add 1/2 cup of honey. The syrup should be a light touch of golden color, and if you like you can put a 1/2 tsp of rose water or jasmine water. Just make sure the temperature of the Baklava and the syrup is not the same, one have to be cooler than the other or you will get some very soggy baklava.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
i think the recipe would be much better with crushed pistachios
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
These are the best, especially when you have guests!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
My family did enjoy this and we will make it again but I might cut down a little on the butter that is left to pour on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
THIS RECIPE IS THE BEST OF ALL THE BAKLAVA RECIPE'S I'VE TRIIED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States