Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Cut the baklava before you bake it or it will just get all crushed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherillynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bad Axe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
alittle to nutty for us. next time we will not use so many but other then that it was excellent!!! and not to difficult!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muldrow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mineo, Sicilia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by salyer
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
A very good dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I added less water, simmered longer, and didn't add all the syrup I made...only adding syrup until the phylo dough was saturated. I used walnuts becasue they are cheaper. Pistachios would be too Lebanese, not Greek, so I would stick with the pecans or walnuts. This recipe has been a favorite at all my holiday parties, and even for small sweet snacks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westmoreland, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Biddeford, Maine, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
great taste. Joshua liked, so did I. Too much butter. Use less butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
I sent this to my mum, shes not such a good cook but she did enjoy making this. However she found that the phillo needs to be cool before you pour the mix onto it or you get some very hard baklava!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I didn't add cloves, and I melted the butter with cinnamon in it. Very excellent. My greek aunt had to have the recipe when I made it for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mokena, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Arlyn G
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Its great and easy to make this. I use Almonds instead of the recommended nut.I add orange blossom water and rose water as well to make it smells nice.With the syrup i add few tsp of the lemon juice and zest of lemon as well.My husband and his algerian friend loves it.My son loves it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This is a great recipe! walnuts are better than pecans. to add flavor, you can take grounded pistachios and sprinkle them. take the advice and dont use cloves or cinnamon. you might want to add more syrup. remember not to pour hot syrup on hot baklava; one has to be cold, the other warm. you can switch the layers. for example i put seven layers of dough then walnuts then 7 more then butter, and then 7 more. then the butter and the pistachios. this is a great recipe though i think the syrup is too sweet. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States