Baking Powder Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This recipe is very similar to the Betty Crocker recipe for baking powder biscuits but by using oil instead of shortening, a lot of fat is cut out. I used olive oil like another reviewer because it is what I had. I also didn't have buttermilk so I used soy milk with about a tablespoon of lime juice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
These turned out quite nice - not flaky/greasy like southern US biscuits, but light and soft like Canadian biscuits. I ended up with 24 small biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Very good, easy recipe. I did these as drop biscuits as the dough did seem too moist to roll out. I also substituted half of the flour for whole wheat, and then added a pinch of sugar and some grated parmiggiano. These would work well as easy herb biscuits too. I baked on a stone pan and they came out perfect - browned on the outside and moist inside. Note: if you like heavy, traditional butter biscuits, this may not be for you - but I prefer the lighter (and healthier!) texture that these produced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
This is the best recipe that I have used to make baking powder biscuits. I have added 1/2 cup shreded chesse to the recipe to make cheese paking powder biscuits I will be using this recipe for all my baking powder biscuits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Ok. The first batch of these I followed the directions completely. The end result was a batch of very salty biscuits. Yuck! So I made another batch this morning. I used 2 and 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour, 1 tbsp of baking powder, 1/4 tsp of salt, 1/3 cup of vegetable oil, and 1/2 of skim milk. (I did not have buttermilk. Although I could have made some. You can take one cup of milk add one tablespoon of white vinegar stir and let sit one to two minutes and this is homemade buttermilk. Check it out online. That is how I found the recipe.) I ended up with fifteen biscuits (I use a mason jar to cut them out that had a slightly smaller opening.) They were a LOT better. Light, fluffy, and taste just like I used shortening. My daughter was happier this time. Thanks for the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This recipe was good! At first I thought it wouldn't work well but the results were great. I used olive oil since it is healthier and it gave it more flavor. But all and all it was moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
good taste, not so good aftertaste! I like them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
omg these are soo good , they remind me of my grandmas biscuits...delicous! i did leave them in the oven for 5 more mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Perla

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
We loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States