Baking Powder Biscuits II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
My go to biscuit recipe from now on. Simple. Quick. Good flavor and texture. No more chemical laden biscuit mix! Will keep some mixed up less the milk for even quicker breakfasts and recipes calling for biscuit mix :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Washington, Iowa, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
It was great I subbed sugar for salt it had a sweet taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Great recipe. I brushed butter over the tops near the end and let them bake a couple extra minutes to get them lightly browned on top. These biscuits are really easy and fast to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I don't usually review recipes but I was impressed with this one. I reduced the salt by half and added a teaspoon of baking soda to go with the buttermilk. I used olive oil as a healthier choice and added an egg to the liquid. The dough was soft and I left it marbled. To roll it out I sprinkled flour on top and it was easy to work with. The biscuits were light, soft and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powassan, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Very good, easy. The only change I made was I used powdered buttermilk ( 2 tbls + 2 tsp buttermilk powder and 2/3 cup of water).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I've made these twice now. The first time I made them as drop biscuits, yielding 9, and cooked them in the toaster oven. The did not brown and were very, very crumbly. The second time I added 1 T. sugar and made cut biscuits, yielding 7 biscuits, brushed the tops with an egg wash, and baked in the conventional oven. They were better but still crumbly. I lost my recipe for biscuits using oil so thought I'd try this recipe. I will continue to search for my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I was at a woman's group this morning and I brought in the Baking Powder Biscuits made with the oil. The ladies all raved how soft and light and fluffy they were. They were a hit and asked me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Ok. The first batch of these I followed the directions completely. The end result was a batch of very salty biscuits. Yuck! So I made another batch this morning. I used 2 and 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour, 1 tbsp of baking powder, 1/4 tsp of salt, 1/3 cup of vegetable oil, and 1/2 of skim milk. (I did not have buttermilk. Although I could have made some. You can take one cup of milk add one tablespoon of white vinegar stir and let sit one to two minutes and this is homemade buttermilk. Check it out online. That is how I found the recipe.) I ended up with fifteen biscuits (I use a mason jar to cut them out that had a slightly smaller opening.) They were a LOT better. Light, fluffy, and taste just like I used shortening. My daughter was happier this time. Thanks for the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States