Baking Powder Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
These were terrible. Made exactly as stated in recipe and they came out looking like porcupines. No taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
The things I changed. 1) I used coconut oil instead of shortening. 2) I added a table spoon of sugar 3) I used reduced fat milk instead of regular milk to cut down the calories. They turned out sooooo perfect!!!!! Nice and hard on the outside and moist and soft in the inside. But with the coconut oil and sugar makes this so much better!!! Yum yum~~ This is keeper X 10~~~ Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
perfect, I use butter and 1 TBSP of sugar and have these for strawberry shortcake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
i added 1/2 cup of shredded cheddar cheese and 2 tsp garlic powder and 1 tbs more milk then brushed the tops with melted butter before baking. added lots of flavor and were not dry at all this way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Strobl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I love this recipe. I use butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ginger
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
They tasted great ! In my own recipe, I use self-rising flour and omit the baking powder and salt..a lot easier..I also sour my milk with a tablespoon of vinegar..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
My husband loves this, he ate almost the entire recipe in one sitting. I used regular almond milk, 1/4 cup of butter instead of shortening, and added some shredded cheese. Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amiee Rohlfing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Didn't have any shortening, so I used butter and reduced the baking powder only by a pinch in response to some of the reviews. Also drastically reduced the recipe to make only 4 biscuits. They baked up very well--not too dry, not too greasy. Used them as breakfast biscuits (heresy!) with the "Bacon Gravy for Biscuits" on this website. Though not a "traditional" match-up, they were still tasty. Good improvisation based on what we had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
perfect recipe. i used butter instead of shortening (didn't have any) and the biscuits came out great. just the right amount of butter to have great flavor, but not come out greasy. light and fluffy. my new go-to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Icy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
These came out pretty well... a *little* dry and bland, but they are a perfect match for a meal served with gravy, which is exactly what I needed them for! I don't know that I'd eat these on their own, but I'm definitely saving this recipe for the next time I make Chicken n' biscuits (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmStan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States