Baking Powder Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
LOVED IT!!! so easy to make, yet still so, so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
This is a really good basic biscuit recipe, but I made a few changes. Many reviews say they are a little dry, so I added just less than 1/4 cup more milk. I don't like baking with shortening, so I substituted butter for the shortening. I also soured the milk with 1 tsp apple cider vinegar and added a few tablespoons of honey to give it a little extra sweetness. They browned a tiny bit too quickly, so I turned down the heat to 425. They turned out great! I will definitely be making them again... My fiancee and I love them with eggs over easy and fried ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
These were terrible. Made exactly as stated in recipe and they came out looking like porcupines. No taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
The things I changed. 1) I used coconut oil instead of shortening. 2) I added a table spoon of sugar 3) I used reduced fat milk instead of regular milk to cut down the calories. They turned out sooooo perfect!!!!! Nice and hard on the outside and moist and soft in the inside. But with the coconut oil and sugar makes this so much better!!! Yum yum~~ This is keeper X 10~~~ Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESHOTCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
perfect, I use butter and 1 TBSP of sugar and have these for strawberry shortcake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Hughes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor Locks, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
i added 1/2 cup of shredded cheddar cheese and 2 tsp garlic powder and 1 tbs more milk then brushed the tops with melted butter before baking. added lots of flavor and were not dry at all this way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Strobl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I love this recipe. I use butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ginger
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
They tasted great ! In my own recipe, I use self-rising flour and omit the baking powder and salt..a lot easier..I also sour my milk with a tablespoon of vinegar..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Poplar Bluff, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
My husband loves this, he ate almost the entire recipe in one sitting. I used regular almond milk, 1/4 cup of butter instead of shortening, and added some shredded cheese. Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amiee Rohlfing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Didn't have any shortening, so I used butter and reduced the baking powder only by a pinch in response to some of the reviews. Also drastically reduced the recipe to make only 4 biscuits. They baked up very well--not too dry, not too greasy. Used them as breakfast biscuits (heresy!) with the "Bacon Gravy for Biscuits" on this website. Though not a "traditional" match-up, they were still tasty. Good improvisation based on what we had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States