Baking Powder Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Leslina21
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
These are perfect, can be rolled or dropped. Best tip is to make sure you are using really cold butter/margarine/shortening. If rolling out make sure not to over work the dough because the better will get too melty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I like the recipe, however, you need to add a little more milk than just one cup. I add about a TBLS of milk to it. I don't want the dough to be so stiff, I give it a softer look, but still holds together to make biscuits. Then I let them sit for about 15-30 min. Depending on how much time I have. I use real butter in place of shortening. I know not everyone likes to taste their dough, however, when making a new recipe you haven't done before, when there isn't any egg in it, taste a little of it, and you will know what the product will taste like for ex: Salty, sweet, or how you like them. I tasted a little bit of it before adding any extra milk beyond the 1 cup, and it was salty, and the dough was too stiff, so I added just a little bit more to soften the dough, afterwards I tasted it, not salty so much anymore!! Keep a close eye on these when baking!! You may find you want to take them out sooner!! You can also bake at 350 degrees for about 15-20 min. Sometimes that helps too, takes a little longer, but might help with texture as well. I use non-salted butter too!! Don't use Salted Butter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This is a great, easy, quick and wonderful recipe! I have used it as a base for so many different flavours/types of bisquits,from throwing in some trail mix, cheese and chives, or just a bit of cinnamon (before adding the milk). I love that it uses the things that I always have on hand, and that I can throw them together if I have someone coming over on short notice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
To make this recipe Dairy/soy free I used coconut oil (solid at room temp) and almond milk in place of the shortening and milk. They turned out great!! I think maybe people have been overcooking them and that's why they are dry? I baked until just turning golden, not at all brown and they were delish! I also lined the pan with parchment paper instead of greasing, less calories and less mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Really easy to make and I like to serve them with soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
The first time I made them I mistakenly used baking soda instead of baking powder and yes they tasted like pretzels. I made them again the correct way and tasted like actual biscuits. I guess I made them smaller because I only had to cook mine for 8 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Pretty good! After reading the comments here I decided to add some seasonings (garlic salt in place of the salt, plus some garlic powder, onion powder, OLD BAY seasoning, and dried parsley) and cheeses (shredded cheddar, provolone, and grated parmesan since that was the cheeses I happened to have), and baked at 425 degrees for 15 min. The only thing that might have made it better is if I thought to brush the tops with garlic butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This is the recipe I use. It is good, easy and quick. My kids are always yelling that they are hungry 1st thing in the morning and I don't have time to roll them out and all that. So this is a very handy dandy trick to have up your sleeve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
These biscuits have a salty taste. I like biscuits a little sweeter and think this recipes needs to add a little sugar. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I don't know what went wrong! I followed the recipe to the letter (with the exception of substituting butter for shortening, after being reassured by a professional baker that it was ok). The biscuits had a terrible after taste and they were dry. Maybe it was something I did, as this was my first time making homemade biscuits. On the bright side, at least they were tender! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States