Baking Powder Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
i added 1 tbs of sugar and 1 of salt. I also used whole milk and magarine. I 've made it twice in 2 weeks !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maman3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Excellent base recioe. I substituted buttermilk for the milk. I also had the convenience of having self rising flour and used it instead of all the little extras added to the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romeoville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
These are so quick and tasty! They are perfect as a side for chili or any family classic! We even eat them for snacks with butter or jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
These were easy to make. Actually, I misread the recipe and added 1/2 C shortening instead of 1/4. They came out soft and just what I was expecting for a drop biscuit. I also added some garlic powder, as I wanted a more savory biscuit. I added 1 tsp, but I think I should've stuck to 1/2 tsp! It was still good, though, and I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OZBOZ79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corning, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
These were great. I changed the recipe by adding buttermilk instead of regular milk. I also used self rising flour instead of baking powder. I think the salt wasn't necessary after adding the buttermilk so next time it won't be there! Very good recipe! Now I don't have to buy the packaged stuff anymore for buttermilk biscuits. One suggestion to other cooks... don't over work the dough. I think I did because they weren't as light and fluffy as I was expecting. I think I over mixed. My husband didn't seem to mind, he ate all but the two I had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdevitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This is an amazing recipe! They are super easy to make and turn out delicious. I substitute margarine for half the shortening and add a bit of sugar, no more than 1/4 cup. Hubby loves them especially when I pair them with something like peachy chicken to sop up the juice. We love them plain too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irelandwhispers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Good recipe, I added a little sugar, but the biscuits came out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I loved this easy recipe, but I only made it for 6 biscuits since it's just hubby and I. I also used cold butter instead of shortening, since I can't get shotening here in Holland. I patted the dough out and made cut biscuits instead of drop style. I found them flaky and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindylou2u

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
my mom use to make this recipe on sunday mornings. i did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Why have I been making Bisquick biscuits all this time when these are just as easy and taste so much better?? I use butter rather than shortening, and sometimes add 1T of sugar to sweeten them up a bit. Since I live alone, I usually make 1/4 recipe to yield two biscuits; I like them best fresh from the oven so I'd rather make them this way than reheat leftovers later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States