Baking Powder Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I have used this recipe many times for biscuits and crusts. It always comes out with a fluffy crust with a crunchy outside and a soft inside. If you use this for crusts then remember to roll it out so that it is very thin otherwise it will take up most of your pan. It is fast and easy to make and fills in for last minute recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Haussler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
this is a great base for cheddar cheese biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Good biscuit recipe. One Sunday a month, I have the opportunity to bake for our Church family. For those who are cannot have sugar in their diet, I make these biscuits and add a cup of shredded cheddar cheese (in addition, sometimes I add 6 pieces of crispy, crumpled-up turkey bacon) to the dough. People seem to enjoy them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Wonderful! I used Margarine instead of shortening. I also threw in a handful of shredded cheese. Sooo good. I pushed them into a muffin pan and it made 11 cute little biscuits. It was nice and easy. My beau will be waking up to the scent of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Add some finely shredded cheese and garlic powder and you have biscuit very close to Red Lobster's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This is my go-to biscuit recipe. I always have the simple ingredients on hand and I jazz it up however I need to. I've done a garlic-cheddar modification that is dangerously good. And I use this recipe, with about a tablespoon of dried sage added, to top chicken pot pie (just drop the heaping spoonfuls on top of the filling and bake as the pot pie recipe directs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Excellent Recipe- My new go to recipe for quick baking powder biscuits. I only changed one thing- i used butter since i stay away from shortening. I turned down the oven temp by 25 degrees and i made 6 large biscuits instead of 12 little ones. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I used a little less milk- less than 3/4 c to make roll and cut biscuits. I used these to make mini pot pies. I diced up some leftover chicken, added some gravy, peas and carrots, put it in a ramekin and topped it with an uncooked biscuit. 450 degrees for 10 minutes. These biscuits were just what I was looking for, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I hate shortening. I always use butter when a recipe calls for shortening because it bakes almost identically, and the flavour is so much richer. I have used this recipe dozens of times. It is very versatile. Simply add some cheddar for a cheese drop biscuit. You can actually roll this dough out if you roll it between 2 sheets of wax paper sprayed with cooking spray. Spread melted butter, brown sugar and cinnamon on the rolled out dough, roll it cup, cut and bake for quick, flaky cinnamon buns. Place thinly rolled dough on a cornmeal dusted baking sheet and top with pizza sauce, mozza and your favourite pizza topping for a quick, and easy pizza. It's definitely less co-operative than working with a yeast risen dough, but if you're in a pinch and creative with your modifications it's a whole lot faster and very tasty. UPDATE: New variation - Roll flat, spread with pesto sauce and top with about 1/4 cup of mozzarella and a sprinke of parmesan. Bake, slice into fingers and serve with marinara as a dip. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A & R's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
i added 1 tbs of sugar and 1 of salt. I also used whole milk and magarine. I 've made it twice in 2 weeks !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maman3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States