Baking Powder Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Not bad, but definitely needs some tweaking. The dough (pre-milk) was way too dry so I added a little butter (it wouldn't even form into the pea sized clumps without the butter) I also added a little sugar but they were sill a little bland. Next time I think I'll use half butter/ half shortening add a bit more salt and a little more sugar. The texture was nice though and they got a nice golden brown top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I used margarine instead of shortening as recommended by another review and they were excellent! I added an extra teaspoon of margarine and they were absolutely perfect! Super simple to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
The biscuit recipe as written was okay. I made modifications which I felt were improvements both in taste and for health, but I didn't consider the mods in the rating. Here are the modifications: 1.) substituted grapeseed oil for shortening 2.) substituted whole wheat flour for white flour 3.) added a tsp of garlic 4.) added 1/4 C of cheddar cheese. 5.) Whenever I add cheddar cheese, I slightly decrease the salt since the cheese has salt - but not everyone would agree with the need to decrease the salt in that case 6.) Instead of dropping them, I divide the dough into the number of biscuits, then roll each lump of dough into a ball. Then I flatten each ball somewhat so it's similar to a biscuit shape. This results in a more uniform shape than a drop biscuit, while eliminating the need to roll them out with a rolling pin. OBSERVATIONS:. A.) Using grapeseed oil, I find the baking sheet does not need to be oiled. B.) With the whole wheat and the extra cheese, they need the full 15 minutes to cook. C.) The best part is the leftovers, which toast nicely after being split the next day. Update 2012-01-08: Tonight I ran out of whole wheat flour so I used All Purpose flour. Since they were going to be used with butter and jam, I didn't add the garlic or cheese. However, I still used the grapeseed oil. What a difference compared to shortening! They were great! Light and crispy on the outside, fluffy on the inside, and much more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
These were so quick, easy, and good. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
just like my momma's biscuits. The perfect vehicle for cinnamon sugar butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I got a craving for some Peach Cobbler, but didnt want to go through all it takes to make it. I made this very easy biscuit recipe, and they came out soft and delicious. I used margarine for the shortning. Than I heated up some peaches, and put them on top of the biscuits, with alittle peach juice, and topped with vanilla ice cream. Im gonna call it "Easy Poor Mans Peach Cobbler", from now on, and its delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitten

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I used margarine instead of shortening and put the dough in a muffin tin to bake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
FAR too much baking soda - inedible. Will try again, with 1/2 or 1/4 the baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I used 1/2 cup of shortening instead of 1/4 cup and I like my biscuits to be large so the recipes only yeilded 8. It is an excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilkie, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Good basic biscuit recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States