Baking Powder Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This is a great, easy, quick and wonderful recipe! I have used it as a base for so many different flavours/types of bisquits,from throwing in some trail mix, cheese and chives, or just a bit of cinnamon (before adding the milk). I love that it uses the things that I always have on hand, and that I can throw them together if I have someone coming over on short notice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
To make this recipe Dairy/soy free I used coconut oil (solid at room temp) and almond milk in place of the shortening and milk. They turned out great!! I think maybe people have been overcooking them and that's why they are dry? I baked until just turning golden, not at all brown and they were delish! I also lined the pan with parchment paper instead of greasing, less calories and less mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Really easy to make and I like to serve them with soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
The first time I made them I mistakenly used baking soda instead of baking powder and yes they tasted like pretzels. I made them again the correct way and tasted like actual biscuits. I guess I made them smaller because I only had to cook mine for 8 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Pretty good! After reading the comments here I decided to add some seasonings (garlic salt in place of the salt, plus some garlic powder, onion powder, OLD BAY seasoning, and dried parsley) and cheeses (shredded cheddar, provolone, and grated parmesan since that was the cheeses I happened to have), and baked at 425 degrees for 15 min. The only thing that might have made it better is if I thought to brush the tops with garlic butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This is the recipe I use. It is good, easy and quick. My kids are always yelling that they are hungry 1st thing in the morning and I don't have time to roll them out and all that. So this is a very handy dandy trick to have up your sleeve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
These biscuits have a salty taste. I like biscuits a little sweeter and think this recipes needs to add a little sugar. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I don't know what went wrong! I followed the recipe to the letter (with the exception of substituting butter for shortening, after being reassured by a professional baker that it was ok). The biscuits had a terrible after taste and they were dry. Maybe it was something I did, as this was my first time making homemade biscuits. On the bright side, at least they were tender! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
LOVED IT!!! so easy to make, yet still so, so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
This is a really good basic biscuit recipe, but I made a few changes. Many reviews say they are a little dry, so I added just less than 1/4 cup more milk. I don't like baking with shortening, so I substituted butter for the shortening. I also soured the milk with 1 tsp apple cider vinegar and added a few tablespoons of honey to give it a little extra sweetness. They browned a tiny bit too quickly, so I turned down the heat to 425. They turned out great! I will definitely be making them again... My fiancee and I love them with eggs over easy and fried ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States