Baking Powder Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
FAR too much baking soda - inedible. Will try again, with 1/2 or 1/4 the baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I used 1/2 cup of shortening instead of 1/4 cup and I like my biscuits to be large so the recipes only yeilded 8. It is an excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilkie, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Good basic biscuit recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This is wonderful, versatile recipe! This is my variation, which has become a family favourite. Replace the shortening with grapeseed oil, add about a tbsp of garlic powder (if desired) and cut cheddar cheese into cubes and incorporate into the batter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This recipe couldn't be easier, and the biscuits are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Halvorsen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I really like this recipe because it's so simple. I prepare the dry ingredients in ziploc bags and leave them on the shelf, then when I want to make quick biscuits, I pour a bag into a bowl. Instead of shortening, I use 1/4 cup of margarine and kind of chop it in with a butter knife. Then I mix in the milk and that's it. I spoon the mix into a muffin pan to make it look pretty. Very basic, but a great time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashlevarnis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Just made these and they are fantastic. I didn't have shortening, so I used Imperial margarine instead. Just like my mom use to make! This is a keeper! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOTOGRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Excellent. These are flakey and very easy to make. My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Good and really easy, and with ingredients that I always have on hand anyway. I have added things to the recipe (cheese, spices) to suit what I am cooking. I also use this recipe for biscuit topping on meat filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I made these biscuits and from this 1 experience, I will not use a 450F. degree oven again. I had to open all the windows/doors to get smoke out. I think 425F would have been plenty. I shaped the biscuits to fairly large size, put them on parchment paper as per usual and in 1/2 the cooking time, they were burning and the smoke was horrendous. The paper burned more than the bottoms of the biscuits but just wanted to share this bit of info just to help someone else preventing them going through the same thing. Will definitely try these again though maybe without paper next time to see what happens. I'm sure they're very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Cheddar Bay Biscuits

Check out these quick and tasty cheddar biscuits.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States