Baking Powder Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 10, 2007
We call these "pay day" biscuits at our house because as it gets closer to pay day (read: grocery shopping) we run out of other breads, but we alwayd have these ingredients on hand. I add grated cheddar cheese to min before adding the milk for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
These are great Biscuits- especially when slathered with jelly or honey. I made a double batch so we could have biscuits for breakfast and my kids ate all the extras as a bedtime snack. Great easy recipe. Oh, i did roll them out to ensure they would be a bit more stable for little hands to hold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grover Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
These were delicious! I added cheese for more flavour! They were 5 stars without the cheese though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJARVIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
These were extremely easy to make but they were also extremely dry and bland. I dipped them in syrup and that made them a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Definately 5 stars for ease of preparation! Mine came out rather flat but I may need fresh baking powder. Overall, tasty and fast...will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brenibree

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Fantastic! I used salted butter to add extra flavour, grated the butter right into the flour, replaced part of the milk with plain 2% yogurt (adding liquid until the dough was quite wet), and scooped them onto the cookie sheet with a medium ice cream scoop. This yielded 16 fluffy and tasty biscuits with a perfect crunchy exteriour. My southern husband said they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I opted out of using shortening and instead went with the suggestion of using butter that was frozen and grated. The middle of the biscuits were tender. And the flavor was nice and light. These biscuits were not overly salty or strange tasting as the canned biscuits can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This is the same recipe I use for making gravy and biscuits. The only thing I do differently is use the butter flavored crisco. Very yummy! Oh, also I roll them out and cut them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Excellent and EASY! Very easy to spice up with garlic and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
These are quick & easy, just like how my mom makes them. We top them with butter & mashed, sweetened strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by punkypower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

7-Up Biscuits

See how to turn four basic ingredients into light, fluffy biscuits.

How to Make Cream Biscuits

These light and flaky cream biscuits are so easy it's practically cheating.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States