Baking Mix Blackberry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I made this today with a bunch of blackberries I had to use. Like one of the other reviewers, this recipe is UNGODLY sweet.. I would reduce the sugar in the water mixture to 1/3 of a cup. I would also add cinnamon and maybe some vanilla to the cake mix. Its good, dont get me wrong, but my teeth hurt from eating it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by olliebean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bexx
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
For requiring so few ingredients, this cobbler was awesome! I added some cinnamon to the blackberries, and cut the water back to 3/4 cup. Served warm with vanilla ice cream. Thanks, AshleyElaine, for the recipe. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bexx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This is a great recipe and I make it a lot in the summer using berries and other fruits of the season. Easy and simple. I do not use as much sugar as called for, as we prefer a cobbler that is not quite so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Absolutely love blackberries but very expensive in the shops here. Fortunately right now they have a special so a wonderful excuse to try this. The only fault was the sweetness so reduced the sugar by almost half and added 2 tsps. of fresh lemon juice. Thanks for a nice simple cobbler........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I used 3 1/2 cups fresh blackberries, 1/3 C. white sugar in the water. For the batter I used 1/3 C melted butter instead of oil, and 1/2 C Bisquick & 1/2 C organic multigrain baking mix from "Inn On the Creek". Loved it... not as rich with less sugar so I served it with whipped cream. ;^) One of the best desserts for summer. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Good but very sweet. My son loved it but I like to have a tiny bit of tartness in a berry filling. I will make again and maybe add a little lemon juice to the berries/sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
So this is pretty good, but it's assembled a little oddly. I looked at the directions several times, mentally shrugged, and then followed them. I'm surprised no reviewer commented on it, but it says to put the cobbler under the berries, not on top. It worked okay--I guess, but I kept thinking it wasn't done since the middle was still liquidy--that was the berries, not the cobbler. I'd reverse it next time, bc it makes a good cobbler otherwise. I did use less sugar, and splenda instead, and it worked well. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I save bananas that are too ripe in the freezer. I thawed one & mashed it up, added 1 tbsp of sugar and we were good to go! No oil! Also added chopped pecans to batter because they were on hand, and it was delish! Used a lot less sugar in fresh berries also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieKate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I made this for a get together and everyone loved it! I made a larger cobbler than the recipe makes and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I made this for my husband's company picnic. I ended up doubling the recipe. I took other people's suggestions and added lemon juice and cinnamon to the blackberries. I didn't add the 1 cup of water since the freshly picked blackberries produced their own juices when I add the sugar to it. Followed the cake exactly as indicated. I put parchment paper on the bottom of the baking pan and put the blackberries on top of the paper and the batter on top the blackberries. After they were done baking and let it cool for about an hour, I flipped the pan over on a big plate and garnished it with more fresh blackberries. It was pretty sweet but I like it that way to counter act some of the tartness of the blackberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry Cobbler II

Watch how to make this easy dessert.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States