Baking Mix Blackberry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
This was SO quick and easy to make! The sugar/water combination makes a glaze that keeps the batter nice and moist. It is a bit sweeter than I'd like which is the only thing keeping me from rating it five stars. I used fresh blackberries and it was delicious served warm with a dollop of vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
So this is pretty good, but it's assembled a little oddly. I looked at the directions several times, mentally shrugged, and then followed them. I'm surprised no reviewer commented on it, but it says to put the cobbler under the berries, not on top. It worked okay--I guess, but I kept thinking it wasn't done since the middle was still liquidy--that was the berries, not the cobbler. I'd reverse it next time, bc it makes a good cobbler otherwise. I did use less sugar, and splenda instead, and it worked well. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Delicious!! I used my homemade substitute for Bisquick and it worked well. I also used defrosted frozen mixed berries and cut back slightly on the sugar. Perfect dessert with vanilla icecream!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uitenhage, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Living In: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I made mine just like the recipe called for, but used mix fruit (blackberries, raspberries, strawberries, peaches), and it was delicious. Syrup didn't thicken too well, even after an additional five minutes cooking, but overall, it's a great addition to the arsenal. Little dollop of whipped cream on top really satisfies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I used 3 1/2 cups fresh blackberries, 1/3 C. white sugar in the water. For the batter I used 1/3 C melted butter instead of oil, and 1/2 C Bisquick & 1/2 C organic multigrain baking mix from "Inn On the Creek". Loved it... not as rich with less sugar so I served it with whipped cream. ;^) One of the best desserts for summer. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I save bananas that are too ripe in the freezer. I thawed one & mashed it up, added 1 tbsp of sugar and we were good to go! No oil! Also added chopped pecans to batter because they were on hand, and it was delish! Used a lot less sugar in fresh berries also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieKate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as written the first time and found it to be too sweet even though it had a good flavor. Just experimented with it last night. I used the cake portion of the recipe and instead of the fruit/sugar/water portion added a 29 oz. can of drained peaches and lightly sprinkled a brown sugar/cinnamon mixture on top before baking. Everyone really enjoyed it. I think the next time I make it I'll try some type of fresh fruit just thrown in. Easy to make and thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capemaybe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape May, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Tastes good; easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
Absolutely love blackberries but very expensive in the shops here. Fortunately right now they have a special so a wonderful excuse to try this. The only fault was the sweetness so reduced the sugar by almost half and added 2 tsps. of fresh lemon juice. Thanks for a nice simple cobbler........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This is a great recipe and I make it a lot in the summer using berries and other fruits of the season. Easy and simple. I do not use as much sugar as called for, as we prefer a cobbler that is not quite so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry Cobbler II

Watch how to make this easy dessert.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States