Baking Mix Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
taste very good just a little dry. I will try to add a little more apple sauce. Definitely making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Moores

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I found this too thick and gummy. It was not the traditional crisp I wass looking for. It was more like a bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I'm not sure why this has such a low rating as we thought it was good. I'm not sure if I had 6 cups of apples as I cored and diced 10 apples that I had. Tossed them with 1/4 cup of sugar and 1 tablespoon of homemade pie spice blend. For the topping I used 2 cups of baking mix (Bisquick) and half cup of the rolled oats, only 1/4 cup brown sugar and subbed rum extract for vanilla. Used homemade chai-spiced applesauce. Skipped the spices in the topping and chose to add the melted butter into the mix then crumbling it over the apples. Overall, I'd make a few changes. I would use more apples or reduce the topping (1 cup baking mix & 1 cup of rolled oats) leave out the extract and potentially use more applesauce (maybe 1/2 cup). Great served warm with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I had someone give me a 32 ounce of apple pie filling. So I used that instead of apples, and omitted the spices (since they were already in the pie filling). I didn't have any applesauce on hand, so I've used 1/4 cup of milk instead. Didn't find the need to use vanilla, so didn't use that either. I also added 3/4 cup of walnuts to the oats and baking mixture. Next time I will cut the butter to maybe a 1/3 cup (it's really rich other wise.) Hubby loved it, wants me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dianamtu
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
baking mix always turns out a bit salty so add more sugar accordingly. Also toss the apples in sugar and cinnamon before hand and definitely peel them. I left the peel on due to laziness and it just wasn't the same
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianamtu

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
All-purpose baking mix is Bisquick. You can find it in the baking supplies aisle at the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
it doesn't even deserve one star!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2001
This is like a cross between an apple crisp and a coffee cake! Super easy. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States