Bakery Shop Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Awesome! Beautiful easy thanks great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOW218

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Love this icing - consistency and flavour. It's not super sweet like most icings. I have even used it to decorate a 4 tiered anniversary cake with icing roses that stood up well even on a very hot July afternoon. It doesn't work to refrigerate this icing to use later (just leave at room temp if being used by the next day). If milk is too hot the icing will be thin - luke-warm milk is what I use. Keep beating to eliminate the graininess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I'm living overseas and I didn't have any icing sugar with me so went looking for an icing recipe that didn't require it. I also don't have an electric beater. Needless to say, I could not hand beat it until it was smooth. It stayed grainy. The little vanilla flavoring turned it brown too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerbreadMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I followed the recipe to a T, and the end result wasn't the greatest. It was rather bland, and more thick and heavy than fluffy. If I were to try it again (which is unlikely), I would definitely dial down the shortening and replace most of it with more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Wow! I made two birthday cakes yesterday for my mom and sister. I wanted something really special but not overly done so I whipped up a classic white cake and added sprinkles to the batter. I looked everywhere for an icing that caught my eye and this was it. I thought it was a bit tasteless, we're a 'the sweeter the better' type of family, so I added two tablespoons of confectioner's sugar to the finished icing. I also found it hard to use as it stuck to everything but the cake. I might try to put it in the fridge for a 1/2-1 hour before use next time. Despite everything I thought while making it, it really offset the taste of the cake perfectly and the sprinkles I added onto it really made for a beautiful picture. I don't think our family has had a better tasting cake that wasn't store bought so I'll be using it for all my white cake birthday cakes in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I also followed the tips/recipe and it did not work for me either. A big waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I don't know what I must have done wrong...This didnt fluff up at all and I mixed for 25 minutes. I followed everybody's tips but it just didnt turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I used this recipe for filling & under a fondant icing and everyone loved it. Good consistency to smooth on the cake. Tasted very good too. Lots of complements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Heeding the advice of all the reviewers I tackled this recipe for cupcakes about half an hour before I was due for Easter dinner. It was all or nothing and I got all. I did the tiny stream with the milk and let it beat itself for 10 minutes into a beautiful fluff that tastes to me like Safeway Frosting (a good thing as my hostess adores Safeway frosting). I piped it out into a swirl, topped each cupcake with a marshmallow bunny and was out the door. It held its shape all the way into everyone's mouth. Kathryn in DC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
the icing tastes good but i suggest that you don't add milk or just add enough to make it the right consistancy. It was pretty runny for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States