Baker's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
When initially viewing this recipe, I thought it seemed like a lot of ingredients and a lot of trouble. Upon further inspection, however, I realize that it's really not that many ingredients. It seems like a lot of steps but it's just because all of the steps are explained so well. This turned out perfectly for me, and I'm not a very experienced "pastry chef". Flavor was fantastic and it was quite flaky. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I used a whole egg, and substituted the flour with graham flower. Used it for a blueberry tarte and cheese cake. Yummy, flaky, and hard to mess up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I love this crust, have looked for crusts that include baking soda and vinegar, this is it. I used reviewer "Mindy W"'s tip, using saran wrap when rolling it out, but I sprinkled 1-2 Tablespoons of flour on the top and bottom, to be safe. I thank CAROLEALANA for submitting this recipe, (which is now in my RECIPE BOX)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This crust was excellent. Very flaky and buttery. Too bad my apple filling didn't quite cook all the way. I was ticked - the filling didn't deserve the crust! And after all that hard work!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This is an amazing pie crust. I used it for a pot pie recipe the first time and it was amazing. It is also great for sweet pies. It makes a flawless crust. This is now my mainstay recipe for pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIRUWE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
All I have to say is that I've been searching for the "perfect" pie crust for a very long time and my search is over. This was amazing!! I made this with Apple Pie I recipe from this site and got rave reviews!! You won't be sorry you tried this one!! Thanks, Carole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri Campbell Gongaware

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Mifflin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
WOW! What an AMAZING crust! I just made this for a lemon meringue pie...came out sensational! Crusts are generally fiddely, and I have to admit this was my first...but I've stuck this recipie in my cookbook for future use. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
THIS IS THE BEST PIE CRUST I HAVE EVER EATEN IT WAS NICE AND SOFT AND FLAVORFUL I USED LARD INSTEAD OF SHORTENING BECAUSE I HAD IT ON HAND AND IT WAS REALLY SOFT AND DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingkiddie1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hayward, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I've tried several claimed to be best ever pie crusts and none have turn out so perfect as this one. At least based on my standard :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This pie crust was great. I'll be using it for my pies all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Newbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States