Baker's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This crust melted in your mouth. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I didn't even come close to using the amount of liquid called for. I only used a little under half, so make sure you very slowly add the liquid to ensure the perfect crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I haven't made enough pie crusts to declare this one the best, but I was happy with the way it turned out and would definitely make it again. I don't see why some people think it's time-consuming or hard--I didn't find it to be so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This is truly the HOLY GRAIL of Pie Crusts! Thank you SO MUCH for posting this recipe!!! I just made 2 pies for Thanksgiving and never had so many compliments on my pie crusts. (Frankly I NEVER had any compliments on my pie crusts, previously.) Even my finicky, hard to please 88 year old Aunt said it was just like "old time" flakey crust and wanted to know the recipe. I followed the wise, gracious advice of another reviewer and rolled out the dough between 2 pieces of saran wrap so my hands never touched the dough, no extra flour was used that might alter the recipe, and made for easy transference onto the pie pan. Once I molded the dough on the pie pan, I chilled it 40 minutes in the fridge to relax the gluten, and for added complete, flakiness perfection, I then followed her advice and put it in the freezer an addl' 20 minutes. What a difference! This crust will make any baker envious! Do yourself a favor, please try this recipe with the added hints. It adds a few steps, but you won't be disappointed. It not only tastes good, its gorgeous in presentation. Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Youngsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I didn't use cake flour, I didn't have any. So, just used regular flour. I used lard not vegetable shortening along with butter. I have to say this rolled out so nice. And it didn't shrink like lots of other pie crust recipes. This is the best pie crust ever. I made three pies yesterday and will be making 2 more today for Thanksgiving. Definetely a five star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skowhegan, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This was the first time I made a pie crust from scratch and its REALLY good! I followed everything exact except i didn't have any cake flower so I used regular flour. We only use White lily so I did have a good quality flour. I took the advice from another reviewer and put it back in the fridge after forming it into a pie plate. Once i baked it, it shrunk a little, but i believe it was my fault. I made a chocolate pie with this crust and brushed the crust with egg wash and sprinkled a tad of sugar on it....I will keep using the recipe until i get it perfect! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Good, good, good! Though I think the liquid amount should be reduced or explained better. Mine came out pretty wet. (I am a first time crust maker) I had so much liquid per the recipe, as I was adding, I guess I got overly secure and should have added it more slowly, only as needed. It was still awesome, after refrigerating overnight, and a little extra flour when rolling. The flavor was very tasty! I cannot wait to try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Barrett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calumet City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Harvard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Wow, this is the best pie crust ever!!! I´ll use it for pork pies too :-) I have used half of the amount of the liquid. All the best from Berlin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ciano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
My first pie crust and it turned out beautifully. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
The best pie crust.Thank you so much !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
When initially viewing this recipe, I thought it seemed like a lot of ingredients and a lot of trouble. Upon further inspection, however, I realize that it's really not that many ingredients. It seems like a lot of steps but it's just because all of the steps are explained so well. This turned out perfectly for me, and I'm not a very experienced "pastry chef". Flavor was fantastic and it was quite flaky. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States