Baker's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
If you're a first time pie maker like me, make sure you cut up your butter into small slices before you add it to the flour or it won't break up right. I had to scrap my first crust because it took too much mixing when I just stuck the whole stick in (hey, I didn't know any better). And don't use all of the liquid, just enough to make the dough stick together when lightly turning it in with a fork. Delicious crust for my first pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I have made many piecrust from scratch for many, many years and I also thought this was the worst!!!! I think you meant to say to use 2 3/4 cups of flour and then 3/4 cup cake flour. The liquid ingrediants are enough for a 2 crust dough, hench it needs much more flour than just 1 and 1/4 cup, I had a bowl of mush....twice!!!! I will make my own recipe from now on but I might add the baking powder for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I just used this pie crust for my chocolate meringue pie - and it won a blue ribbon in the Tennessee State Fair! Hooray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I have been using this pie crust recipe (or one similar) for years and love it! I feel like it has lots of flavor and really enhances whatever pie filling you use it with. My one bit of advice (I use a pastry blender, not a food processor) is to make sure that your "chunks" of dough aren't too large prior to adding liquid. If they are I feel that it is sticky and ugly when rolled out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali McCance

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
This recipe did not work for me. I've made tons of pie crusts in my life, but this was without doubt the worst. I wrestled with it for a while, but it kept ripping and sticking, even after chilling it and rolling it out on a cold marble slab! I finally made my regular crust instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I am 62 years old & have been trying to make a decent pie crust for half my life....this one is the only one you will need,trust me. I use it to make meat pies too..I add some dried herbs to the dry ingredients when making these meat pies....adds a little pizazz. Buy yourself some of those little aluminum pie tins & make mini pies.....cut out a heart of dough & place on top...bake pie as usual. Give to someone & tell them you made the pie with love just for them!! People feel special when they get their own little pie....this piecrust will make all the difference to whatever filling you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I have used this recipe 5 times the only thing i add is 2 tsp. of vanilla extract. I would not use any other pie crust for this type of crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
I made a strawberry pie for my neighbor using this recipe for the pie crust..she said the pie was "WONDERFUL" and absolutely LOVED the pie crust...I'll be using it again since my neighbor and her husband thought the pie crust was "WONDERFUL"...thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Thank you so kindly for sharing your wonderful recipe. For years I have made my pastry crust with just shortening and it was very good--flaky, pesentable but not as flavorable as those made with butter. But this recipe is everything a pastry crust should be--flaky, delicious and beautiful. I have been making it with 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour and 1/2 K.A. unbleached all-purpose flour as I did not have cake flour on hand and I used a little bit less water. But other than those minor changes, I followed the recipe exactly with great success. Right now, I have just made a double batch to do some English baking--treacle tart, and lemon and raspberry tarts. This pastry is just perfect for these!!! Again, I thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Renee
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I used this recipe to make an Apple Pie for my 1st Thanksgiving with my husband. Although it was more work than traditional crust recipes, it was worth it. This crust is DELICIOUS. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alden, New York, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States