Baker's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by VEERNNYR
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I, too, have been on the great pie crust quest. I had my mother's recipe but that was for the 8" pies 30 years ago. So I had to change the proportions and consequently, it got lost in translation. It is an oil crust which is fine but is thin in a deep dish pie plate. I've included 2 pics; one, uncooked and one just out of the oven. It remains for the judge (my hubby) to rate it! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEERNNYR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stowe, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
okay for me, may be will try again. but i still think the other pie crust recipe that i try in here still better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hime12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This is similar to a recipe I've used with great results before except for the mixture of regular and cake flour, and the addition of the baking powder, so I thought I'd give it a try. When preparing the wet ingredients, I substituted some brandy, which happened to be on the counter, for the vinegar. A dash of alcohol can make pastsry flakier, and I thought the flavor would go well. I don't know whether this made any difference to the final product, but in any case, it came out wonderful! It was rich and flaky, and melt-in-your-mouth tender. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Wow! I followed every step to the letter and it was worth it. This could be my permanent pastry recipe. For someone without much experience or confidence in pastry (like me), this was a great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
There is no better pie crust than this. I have made this now with the Apple Pie by Grandma Ople about 20 times, and the only response I get is that this is the best pie ever; Some add "and I don't even like apple pie". FOLLOW the directions and don't vary anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goleta, California, USA
Living In: Carpinteria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This is my 4th time making a pie crust and the ones before this one always turned out tough and chewy but this recipe was very flakey and had nice flavor. I guess the vinegar and egg really make a difference. This is the best recipe I have made so far and I will use this from now on. I still can't believe I made this crust. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Great pie crust. I freeze the butter than grate it on the bigger holes, then freeze again. This makes the adding of the moisture super quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
An amazing, perfect recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I've never been very good with pie crusts, but this one is by far the very best. Like other reviewers, I was able to roll it out between plastic wrap. Therefore, it was very easy to work with. Thanks for the wonderful recipe. I will use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbsteen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Freedom, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Very good pie crust. It is especially good with pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States