Baker's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
okay for me, may be will try again. but i still think the other pie crust recipe that i try in here still better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hime12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This is similar to a recipe I've used with great results before except for the mixture of regular and cake flour, and the addition of the baking powder, so I thought I'd give it a try. When preparing the wet ingredients, I substituted some brandy, which happened to be on the counter, for the vinegar. A dash of alcohol can make pastsry flakier, and I thought the flavor would go well. I don't know whether this made any difference to the final product, but in any case, it came out wonderful! It was rich and flaky, and melt-in-your-mouth tender. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Wow! I followed every step to the letter and it was worth it. This could be my permanent pastry recipe. For someone without much experience or confidence in pastry (like me), this was a great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
There is no better pie crust than this. I have made this now with the Apple Pie by Grandma Ople about 20 times, and the only response I get is that this is the best pie ever; Some add "and I don't even like apple pie". FOLLOW the directions and don't vary anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goleta, California, USA
Living In: Carpinteria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This is my 4th time making a pie crust and the ones before this one always turned out tough and chewy but this recipe was very flakey and had nice flavor. I guess the vinegar and egg really make a difference. This is the best recipe I have made so far and I will use this from now on. I still can't believe I made this crust. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Great pie crust. I freeze the butter than grate it on the bigger holes, then freeze again. This makes the adding of the moisture super quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
An amazing, perfect recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I've never been very good with pie crusts, but this one is by far the very best. Like other reviewers, I was able to roll it out between plastic wrap. Therefore, it was very easy to work with. Thanks for the wonderful recipe. I will use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbsteen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Freedom, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Very good pie crust. It is especially good with pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
What a nice pie crust! I'm a first-time pie maker, and this still came out lovely. I did not have cake flour on hand, so I measured out 3/4 cup regular flour, took out about 3/4 tbsp of flour, and replaced it with an equal amount of cornstarch. I sifted this mixture before adding the other 3/4 cup of flour, and sifted again (I figured I might as well). I used a hand blender to mix together the butter and shortening before putting it in the freezer, which made it easier to work with when it came out. As per the recipe, I put half the fat into the food processor with the flour mixture, and then cut in the rest of the fat by hand. I was careful not to overmix, rolled it out between two sheets of wax paper (great tip), and actually I don't have a rolling pin so I used a wine bottle (it worked). I also let the dough relax in the fridge both before and after rolling out. Came out with just the right texture and a subtle flavor, goes well with either sweet or savory flavors. I think the mixture of shortening and butter really gives this a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States