Baker's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I'm not sure what all the hype is about with this recipe. I've tried to make it twice now and both times I ended up with a wet, sticky mess before I even used up half of the liquid ingredients. On the second batch, I stopped adding the liquid once the dough came together and just started to become too wet. I gently kneaded in a couple tablespoons of flour before wrapping it up and sticking it in the fridge. Honestly, I'm afraid to make a pie with it, I picked my own apples at a local farm and I don't want the thing to come out a big soggy mess. I guess we'll see what happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taricotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by babs2574
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
So Good!!! GREAT for both sweet and savory items. I was not sure if this would work because I left it in the fridge for 2 days or so after making. I had it rolled into a ball and tightly wrapped. I had unwrapped it Sunday to check it out and it turned out wonderful! So very flaky and reminds me of my Grandmothers... except the lard. Will use this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
FANTASTIC! I used this as my crust in the "chicken pot pie IX" recipe (also found on allrecipes.com). Way more tasty than frozen pie crusts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missnepa
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This recipe is the FIRST pie crust recipe I ever tried. I have never baked a pie before this, so I used this crust recipe to make a Blueberry pie. That pie turned out to be sooo good I think it could be a county fair blue ribbon winner! I didn't refrigerate and freeze the dough as long as directed because I didn't have time, but it turned out just right! I went online and searched for a video on how to make a lattice crust. It was actually easy and looked beautiful! You can see a picture on my page. I put foil around the crimped part of the crust for the first 15 minutes while baking so it didn't burn. It came out perfectly lightly browned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missnepa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
OMG is all I can say about this crust. Read most of the reviews prior to trying & thank God for all of you who have tested, tried and will take the time to review recipes. This is the best pie crust ever. I didn't handle the crust all all like the viewers said, didn't even add flour when I rolled the crust out. Followed directions to a tea except I didn't have cake flour so instead I used bread flour because it's all I had. The frozen butter thing worked great with a shreader and I laid down two long pieces of wax paper and didn't have to flour them because I worked with the dough very cold and kept the other one in fridge until bottom crust was formed. I didn't think I'd be able to follow the recipe (seemed complicated) but I took my time and did it word for word and it was an unbelievable crust. My apples created a lot of juice but the bottom crust withstood the juice. I baked pie on 400 for 1st 15 min and turned to 350 for remaining 45 min. This is restaurant quality crust and thank God for all the wonderful people who share their secrets, God bless you all! but special thanks to Carolealana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superk734

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Amazing! Got endless compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Flaky and delicious! My only problem was the dough stuck to my countertop and rolling pin. Next time, I'll roll it out on my silicone cooking sheets. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This is awesome recipes from pie crust but I almost make a mistake with 3/4 cup in grams,when I put in metric,3/4 cup same with 109 grams,thats wrong it sepose to be 175 gr,i almost feelt down to see my dough so wet and then I try to found out in which side I made a mistake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ltsmith
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was my first attempt at making a pie crust from scratch...it turned out absolutely beautiful! I added a picture so you can see for yourself! I doubled the recipe for a 2-crust apple pie and added a teaspoon of sugar for a little sweetness. My Mother, who is notorious for her picture-perfect flakey pie crusts, was so impressed she wanted the recipe as well...wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltsmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I'm not good at crusts, but this was really good. Flaky and tender. Perfect with Mrs. Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States