Baker's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Amazing! Got endless compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Flaky and delicious! My only problem was the dough stuck to my countertop and rolling pin. Next time, I'll roll it out on my silicone cooking sheets. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This is awesome recipes from pie crust but I almost make a mistake with 3/4 cup in grams,when I put in metric,3/4 cup same with 109 grams,thats wrong it sepose to be 175 gr,i almost feelt down to see my dough so wet and then I try to found out in which side I made a mistake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ltsmith
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was my first attempt at making a pie crust from scratch...it turned out absolutely beautiful! I added a picture so you can see for yourself! I doubled the recipe for a 2-crust apple pie and added a teaspoon of sugar for a little sweetness. My Mother, who is notorious for her picture-perfect flakey pie crusts, was so impressed she wanted the recipe as well...wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltsmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I'm not good at crusts, but this was really good. Flaky and tender. Perfect with Mrs. Sigg's Fresh Pumpkin Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
OMG is all I have to say about this, amazing.. just amazing. Flaky, buttery, crunchy on the edges and while cutting..... if I was home alone I would eat the entire apple pie ;-). I have tried many times to make apple pie and this was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
OMG! This has to be one of the BEST pie crusts I've ever had on this site! It's so delicious, and so flaky yet easy to roll out that I can see why this person has won County Fair competitions with this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly using cake flour which I have to admit I've never used in pie crust before - I doubled the recipe for a deep dish pie "Vermont Apple Pie" from this site to be exact. I used butter flavored shortening and found that I only need 8 Tbsp. of the egg yolk, water/vinegar mixture. I chilled the dough in the freezer for a bit and then I rolled the dough out onto wax paper that was lightly floured and it was a breeze to put into a deep dish pie plate. It baked up beautifully! I'm so glad I found this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
We were so excited to try ths recipe with all the great reviews. Followed it to the T but the crust would not firm up, too soft leading to it falling apart any time we tried to put it in the pie crust pan. Perhaps if we had stored it in the freezer instead of the fridge it would have worked but not worth the trouble of trying again--we'll stick with my more basic (less ingredients) recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Amazing crust. Best ever. Like others I was intimidated by pie crusts but, no more. I read a bunch of the reviews and the main message was to keep everything as cold as possible. For example if i had to answer the phone during the process or i got pulled away for some other reason I would stick the batter in the fridge/freezer. Like someone suggested I used grated frozen butter and I used a shortening that I bought from a health food store, it is made of coconut and olive oil(love it). I just used a fork to lightly mix everything, no processor. My hands never touched the dough because I rolled it out between wax paper. After i put the rolled out dough in the pan and pulled of the wax paper off i chilled it again for 40 minutes before adding the filling and baking. What an amazing flaky buttery crust. I can't imagine making a better one. I made a broccoli quiche. Oh and i used about three quarters of the wet solution. The batter seemed wet but turned out perfect. I will use this batter for making portuguese custard tarts next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colette
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VEERNNYR
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I, too, have been on the great pie crust quest. I had my mother's recipe but that was for the 8" pies 30 years ago. So I had to change the proportions and consequently, it got lost in translation. It is an oil crust which is fine but is thin in a deep dish pie plate. I've included 2 pics; one, uncooked and one just out of the oven. It remains for the judge (my hubby) to rate it! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEERNNYR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stowe, Vermont, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States