Baker's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
4 stars because....too much butter/shortening for myself. I doubled recipe but 1/2 C each of butter and shortening. I did freeze both in cubes and used my K/A stand mixer. I made sure not to over mix & wrapped dough in plastic wrap and let it sit in fridge for an hour. Then I allowed the crust to sit in room temp for 15 minutes b4 trying to roll out. It was fine. I've discovered when dough is cold it doesn't roll out as easily. Once rolled out I allowed pie crust to chill in pie pan before pre baking so it wouldn't shrink up as much. Anyway, reducing the fat a bit and mixing in the wet a Tblsp at a time, worked for me! I have such a difficult time with pie crust but this one worked out with my slight changes. Oh and I used all AP flour, didn't have any cake flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This is an exceptionally good recipe. The crust turns out flaky but not oily. I think the vinegar makes the trick and I accidentally added 1 tbsp of sugar instead , it still turns out well. Very good .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Thank you for this wonderful pie crust! You have made me the blue ribbon winner in my family!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I must say that this was the most frustrating pie crust recipe I have ever used and I have made several kinds. I made as directed but could not get the crust to roll out. It would break apart every time I tried and I kept putting it in the refrigerator or freezer to make sure it was cold. I finally put it in the pie plate and pushed it down with my fingers and that worked fine, though I didn't get the pretty edge I was wanting. The bad thing was I quadrupled this recipe because I plan to make more pies this week to give away. Now, I may have to make a different recipe for my give away pies. : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
THE best pie crust for a cook whom struggled with pie crust. This one comes out perfect! I used all regular flour, but am sure an added element could be had by halfing it with cake flour. Also, my crust did not take all of the yolk, vinegar, water mixture. I followed the instructions for 5 TBS at a time and that was a perfect tip to not "over water" the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Loving it! I just threw everything together in my mixer (dry ingredients first) and yep, what a great crust! I skipped the ice cubes, did not freeze anything, no extras, and even though my dough was a slightly greasy from the room temp butter, I had no fuss at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This is the BEST pie crust recipe I have ever tried! I have never had a pie crust turn out as flaky and wonderful as this one did--this is the ONLY recipe I will use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryanne Affleck Robison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This WAS good, but not the best I've tried. Worth using for a decent pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by easterngambler
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I've never been that great at making dough, but this recipe was fairly easy even without a processor. The Crust was amazing, flakey, and strong. I could I have picked up my whole apple pie without it falling apart. The only reason I'm giving this recipe 4 stars is because there wasn't enough dough I had to switch to a smaller pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
takes alot of extra work, is good, but not sure if its worth the extra effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States