Baker's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I wanted a crumbly crust like Marie Callenders banana cream pie. This recipe did not disappoint. The water amount, I've found, is way off. I've made this crust at least 5 times and I never use even close to the full amount of water and I live in dry Colorado, so add just enough liquid to make the dough just clump together. The vinegar and egg yolk must do something to the texture and flavor making it excellent, and different from other crusts. It is hard to work with, so chill the dough overnight for easier handling, roll on floured surface, or press into the pie pan works fine too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
If I could give this more than 5 stars I would. I was a bit confused by the part of the recipe when you mix egg with vinegar and then measure some of that back in to the recipe tablespoons at a time. I almost made a major error there. I was worried after the dough was mixed because it was really wet. But I wrapped it in plastic wrap and refrigerated it. I didn't end up rolling it out for several hours later. I heavily floured my surface, floured my hands, floured the rolling pin and it all worked out. I used the crust in a chicken pot pie. OH MY GOODNESS! It was absolutely the best crust I have ever made. Light, flaky, crispy, held together, tasted awesome! The tiny hint of vinegar really worked. I can't wait to try the crust recipe on a fruit pie or pecan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Broyles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Iowa, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This is by far the best pastry I have made. The dough was easy to roll out and was nice and flaky! This is now my pastry recipe of choice! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
So many ingredients! The tip on vinegar and egg yolk makes it worthwhile, though. Since I didn't have cake flour, I found out how to convert regular flour into cake flour, too. Then I used the leftover vinegar/egg yolk/water when making Mom's Pie Crust on this website. Both Baker's Secret and Mom's turned out great - both were "my best" crusts yet. There's one in the freezer waiting to impress me all over again. And I can't wait to make more. My friend who was a pastry chef for years told me to not let anyone tell me I'm not a pie maker. Then she had another piece of pumpkin pie. Thank you to Carolealana and Debra Shapiro for both of these recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Loved working with it and it tasted good. I didnt use all the liquid, and Im glad I added water in portions. I used it for Pumpkin pies and Apple pie. With Pumpkin I poked with fork and baked it for 5 min, and it still was a little raw. It baked well with apple filling. Stores well in fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I never thought that I could make a pie crust this good! I've used it for pumpkin pie and apple, both came out great with this crust! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This was my first time making a pie crust from scratch and I chose this review based on the other reviews left here. I followed the directions exactly as listed above - The flavor was delicious. I think I personally need a little practice getting the right texture and not making as big of a mess in the kitchen, but I think the recipe itself was fantastic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
A double OMG on this pie crust. Everyone raves about it and Carolealana deserves the rave reviews. I've never heard of using egg or vinegar to wet the dough but it works like a miracle. I made a cherry pie at 2am last night and the pie didn't last 24 hours, for a family of . . . 2. Me and my husband could not get enough pie crust! Absolutely delicious. Thank you Carole, thank you, thank you. I will use this recipe the rest of my life, I will hand it down to my kids, and I'm sure they will hand it down to theirs! OMG.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dottie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
4 stars because....too much butter/shortening for myself. I doubled recipe but 1/2 C each of butter and shortening. I did freeze both in cubes and used my K/A stand mixer. I made sure not to over mix & wrapped dough in plastic wrap and let it sit in fridge for an hour. Then I allowed the crust to sit in room temp for 15 minutes b4 trying to roll out. It was fine. I've discovered when dough is cold it doesn't roll out as easily. Once rolled out I allowed pie crust to chill in pie pan before pre baking so it wouldn't shrink up as much. Anyway, reducing the fat a bit and mixing in the wet a Tblsp at a time, worked for me! I have such a difficult time with pie crust but this one worked out with my slight changes. Oh and I used all AP flour, didn't have any cake flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This is an exceptionally good recipe. The crust turns out flaky but not oily. I think the vinegar makes the trick and I accidentally added 1 tbsp of sugar instead , it still turns out well. Very good .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States