Baker's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2005
I wanted to try this recipe but i can't figure out what is shortening... can anyone tell me?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
I already had a good pie crust recipe but needed one that would hold together better. This recipe was fantastic. It had body yet was flaky, and the flavor was marvelous. Keeping everything cold as Carole instructs is important. I used apple cider vinegar since I was out of white vinegar, and it was fine. I will definitely make this pie crust many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
I'm not rating this because I didn't follow instructions, and I'm pretty sure it'd work beautifully in a food processor, but I never drag that thing out (not dishwasher friendly). If I can't make it with my stand mixer, it doesn't get made. I gave it a shot, and though I have successfully made other pie crusts with the KitchenAid—there's one in the book that came with the mixer—this wasn't forgiving at all. It rolled out very poorly. Extremely sticky. Appreciate it being here, just the same. I might reconsider it if I had a ton of pies to do, making it worth getting the food processor dirty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
Perfect! The pie crust recipe to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I love this pie crust!! It is a little fragile and difficult to work with but keep it cold and be patient. It is well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAZAARBAKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
Bland! Judges said I would have won 1st place with my praline apple pie, except for the crust so I got 3rd. This crust tasted like cardboard. I even tried to make it again, except added 1/4 of sugar to make it more like a sugar cookie, didn't help it out much. Still looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This is the best pie crust. I get compliments on it every time. Roll out thin, but don't overwork. It gets temperamental sometimes, easily breaking or becoming dry and hardened. I like substituting the shortening for more butter. I save the egg white after separating it from the yolk, then use it to seal the top and bottom crust. Then I brush it onto the top crust for a nice glaze before making some slits for steam to escape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Awesone. Did't find it very hard, and came ot real flaky. Everyone thought my pie was store-bought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
This worked okay but the flavor of the crust was not as good as my usual recipe. Also the baking powder made the crust puff up a little too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
More shortbread than pie crust. This dough is way to moist and delicate to work with. I've made it twice now and reduced the amount of the liquid added to the flour mixture and it was still a pain to roll out. I doubled the recipe and added 5 T of liquid to make a two crust pie the second time. Rolled it out between Saran wrap. It tore while placing the bottom crust into the pan and I had to pat it in place. The top crust actually broke around the edge while baking. As for the baked texture, it is more like shortbread than pastry. Not 'flaky' at all, but crumbly and tender instead. Perhaps it is the addition of the baking powder. That wouldn't be bad if it wasn't such an ordeal to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 141-150 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States