Baker's Secret Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Great recipe! Will not use any others from now on. I was in charge of pies for Thanksgiving this year. Although I am a pretty good baker, I don't consider pies one of my specialties. The other problem was I had to work through Wednesday and didn't know how I would have time to make 6 pies Wednesday night after working all day! I made six crusts with this recipe the weekend before Thanksgiving and froze them. Wednesday night I pulled them out and added the various fillings and baked. They came out perfectly!!! Also -- I followed Mindy W's advice about rolling the crust out between saran wrap. WOW!! EASY AND NO MESS!!! Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I would recommend that you try this recipe out a few days in advance to make sure of the end result and your ability to do it. I used this recipe the first time to make 4 crusts. I ended up with crusts that are way too dry and cracking as I try to fold them. I literally was screaming in the kitchen, as it is Thanksgiving morning and now I have to redo my crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKINE22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
GREAT!! This was my biggest fear of trying. But on my 2nd try(1st one was to watery,kids helped) it was great. I didnt have a food proccesor, so I just used a spoon like I read on the sugg. Plus I only used 4 ices and pulled them out when the started to melt, then I put the liquid in the frig till needed, this helped from it becoming to watery. Its a KEEPER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
This is the first time i have ever tried a from scratch crust and I thought it turned out very well. I had no dificulty with it but because it was my first attempt I will try others so who knows maybe it will be my one and only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KFELSMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This is by far my favorite pie crust recipe! It sounds a little labor intensive but it's not too bad. The key is to keep things cold and to handle the crust as little as possible so the gluten doesn't break down (which makes it tough and not flaky). I always just used a fork instead of a food processor and regular AP flour and it turns out wonderful. I've also used frozen butter cut with a cheese grater (easier then a fork) and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This was my first pie i ever made and my family loved it!!! i just felt that 8 apples were too much. Although, i will make again for sure!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
I have been making pie crusts for longer than I can remember and they all came out fairly okay. But when I tried your recipe my family couldn't stay away from my pies. This recipe was wonderful! Thanks a bunch for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
You really can't go wrong with this pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
im terrible at making pastry, but this turned out great. i used it with asparagus quiche then again with other quiches i have made. this will be the recipe i use for all my pie crusts now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
I replaced the shortening with extra-virgin coconut oil and the crust came out SO flakey! It was melt-in-your-mouth YUMMY! I highly recommend this recipe for most pies. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States